BOE Recognizes 15 Individuals, Organizations for Distinguished Service

May 12, 2021

The Montgomery County Board of Education has announced its recipients for the 24th Annual Awards for Distinguished Service to Public Education. The awards were established by the Board of Education to recognize and show appreciation for exemplary contributions to public education and to MCPS. More information on the awardees and the award ceremony will be shared in the next few months.

Nominations for the awards were sought from the general community, as well as community organizations, businesses, the superintendent of schools and Board members.

This year’s Distinguished Service Award winners are:

Community Individual

Mr. Byron Diaz, Family Case Manager, Wheaton Woods Elementary School

Ms. Susan Douglas, Educational Outreach Coordinator, Georgetown University

Ms. Kate Haydon, Managing Director, Academy Development, NAF

Community Group

The Literacy Council of Montgomery County

The Vaccine Hunters

Women Who Care Ministries


Starbucks Coffee Company – Maryland Region

MCPS Staff

Mr. Jeffrey Donald, Instructional Specialist, mindfulness

Dr. Daryl Howard, Instructional Specialist, Equity Initiatives Unit

Ms. Jennifer Lowndes, Principal, Rock Creek Forest Elementary School

Ms. Robin McCue, Administrative Secretary III, Athletics Unit

Mr. Kenneth Nwocha, Teacher, Springbrook High School

School Service Volunteer

Ms. Jessica Berrellez, President, Ridgeview Middle School PTSA; member of MCPS Family Engagement Advisory Team and Deputy Superintendent Advisory Board; Latino Student Achievement Action Group Parent Co-Chair; and member of the MCCPTA Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Individual Pioneer

Dr. Jack R. Smith, MCPS Superintendent

Mr. Morris Hudson, Founder, The Brothers Academy





<<Back to browse