Board of Education Receives Mental Health and Well-Being Update; Makes Administrative Appointment; Adopts New Business Item: Annual Work Plans for the Board’s Committees

September 15, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on September 8, 2022. During the meeting, the Board received a mental health and well-being update; made an administrative appointment; and adopts new business item: annual work plans for the Board’s committees.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

Mental Health and Well-Being Update

The Board heard an update on efforts to meet the mental health and social-emotional well-being needs of Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students. They discussed a student wellness survey, a well-being Canvas resource page, social workers, school counseling, psychological services and other well-being supports and enhancements.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint presentation.

Administrative Appointment

The Board approved the following administrative appointment:

Stephanie R. Iszard, currently coordinator, Office of the School System Medical Officer, Office of the Deputy Superintendent, as executive assistant, Office of the School System Medical Officer, Office of the Deputy Superintendent

New Business Item

The Board approved the Board’s committees annual work plans:

  • Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee
  • Committee on Special Populations
  • Fiscal Management Committee
  • Policy Management Committee
  • Strategic Planning Committee

Read the adopted resolutions.


Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Thursday, September 22, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Arvin Kim, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse