Board of Education Appoints Nine Principals

May 9, 2007
Board Appoints Nine Principals, Urges Support for Improvements in NCLB

The Board of Education met on Tuesday (May 8) and, among other items, appointed 10 administrators, including nine principals. The Board discussed ramifications of the No Child Left Behind Act and also discussed a report and presentation on the Superintendent’s Leadership Program. Great Seneca Creek Elementary School was honored for receiving the Gold Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design award. Other recognitions included NAACP scholarship recipients, the Fathers’ Circle Program at Kingsview Middle School, and School Food and Nutrition Services personnel.


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Michael D. Bayewitz, currently principal, Luxmanor Elementary School, as principal, Broad Acres Elementary School

Lee F. Derby, currently principal, Garrett Park Elementary School, as principal, Cedar Grove Elementary School

Nora G. Dietz, currently principal intern, Cannon Road Elementary School, as principal, Captain James E. Daly Elementary School

Aara L. Davis, currently principal, Whetstone Elementary School, as principal, Georgian Forest Elementary School

Floyd D. Starnes, currently principal intern, Twinbrook Elementary School, as principal, Kemp Mill Elementary School

Barbara A. Liess, currently principal intern, Gaithersburg Elementary School, as principal, Kensington Parkwood Elementary School

Audra M. Fladung, currently acting principal, Stonegate Elementary School, as principal, Stonegate Elementary School

Jennifer A. Baker, currently assistant principal, Walt Whitman High School, as principal, Tilden Middle School

Sarah E. Sirgo, currently acting principal, Woodlin Elementary School, as principal, Woodlin Elementary School

Phillip F. Gainous, currently principal, Montgomery Blair High School, as liaison for Leadership Development

No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 Discussion

The Board discussed the challenges that have emerged through the implementation of the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001. Among the issues are creating flexibility in the use of assessments for students with disabilities and those learning English, fairly determining Adequate Yearly Progress, and directing incentives rather than sanctions to Title I schools and districts for failing to meet proficiency targets. The Board passed a resolution supporting a National School Boards Association (NSBA) brief that identified issues and called for reforms in NCLB when it is reauthorized by Congress. The Board directed MCPS to include an addendum to the resolution that provides information and recommendations specific to MCPS.

Superintendent’s Leadership Program

The Board received a briefing on the Superintendent’s Leadership Program, an honors-level humanities curriculum available to outstanding high school seniors in MCPS through an application and interview process. Students serve internships with partners in business, higher education, and government. The students also attend seminars, including a monthly seminar that is facilitated by the superintendent of schools.

Great Seneca Creek Elementary School—Building Design Award

The Board recognized the collaboration of MCPS staff, project architect, and contractor in designing and building Great Seneca Creek Elementary School, the first school in Maryland to achieve a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. The award recognizes the commitment of MCPS to environmental stewardship.

Recognition of the Fathers’ Circle Program at Kingsview Middle School

The Board recognized the Fathers’ Circle at Kingsview Middle School that partners with African American fathers to gather information and ideas on ways to improve the academic performance of students. The program also has provided books for students and visits to college campuses, among other opportunities.

Recognition of NAACP Scholarship Recipients

Five students who received $1,000 scholarships from the Montgomery County Branch of the NAACP were congratulated by the Board. The Board also expressed its appreciation for the work of the NAACP and other community leaders in supporting student achievement. The scholarship winners are Jennifer Rose Brown, Springbrook High School; Rossana Espinoza, John F. Kennedy High School; Roquella Hinds, Montgomery Blair High School; Camille Meeks, Montgomery Blair High School; and Vivian Yohannes, John F. Kennedy High School.

Salute to School Food and Nutrition Services Personnel Day

The Board recognized representatives from the Division of Food and Nutrition Services as part of the celebration of the twenty-second annual Salute to School Food and Nutrition Services Personnel Day. More than 12 million meals are served annually under the National School Lunch and School Breakfast programs.

<<Back to browse