Board Appoints Four Administrators, Approves School Meal Fees

June 11, 2008
The Board of Education met on Tuesday, June 10, and, among other items, approved the Fiscal Year 2009 Operating Budget. The Board also made four administrative appointments and approved fees for school lunch and breakfast. In addition, the Board recognized students who won scholarships from the Hispanic Employees Association of Montgomery County and Leadership Montgomery and approved an appointment to the Ethics Panel. A special tribute to former county executive and County Council member Neal Potter was read and approved.

Final Adoption of the FY 2009 Operating Budget
The Board of Education unanimously approved the final Fiscal Year 2009 Operating Budget at its June 10 meeting, paving the way for improvement initiatives including middle school reform, hours-based staffing for special education and two new International Baccalaureate programs, along with full funding of salary agreements negotiated with employee associations. The budget also includes significant reductions due to the current economic climate.

The budget totals about $2.07 billion, approved by the County Council on May 22. This is an increase of 4.1 percent ($81.7 million) over the current FY 2008 Operating Budget but about 2.1 percent ($44.6 million) less than the Board’s budget request to the Council. The share of the budget increase paid for by local taxpayers is $75 million. (Additional information is in a separate news release.)

The Board approved the following administrative appointments:
Dennis G. Queen, currently principal, Kingsview Middle School, as principal, Seneca Valley High School
Karen E. Danco, currently acting supervisor, Division of Consortia Choice and Application Program Services, Department of Enriched and Innovative Programs, as supervisor, Division of Consortia Choice and Application Program Services, Department of Enriched and Innovative Programs
Joyce H. Colbert, currently instructional specialist, Academic Support, Federal and State Programs, as supervisor, Division of Title I Programs, Academic Support Initiatives, Office of School Performance
Tina W. Shrewsbury, currently special education program specialist, extensions coordinator, Lakelands Park Middle School, as coordinator, Stephen Knolls Center

Approval of Policy EEA, Student Transportation
The Board tentatively adopted revised Policy EEA, Student Transportation, designed to provide safe, responsive, and accountable operation of the Montgomery County Public Schools transportation system, in partnership with parents and students.  The Board voted to remand the policy to the Board Policy Committee to make additions and alterations to the policy as a result of Board discussion. Final action on the policy is scheduled for the Board's meeting on June 23, 2008. 

Recommended FY 2009 Fees for the Food and Nutrition Services Program
The Board approved changes in the price of school breakfast and lunch to accommodate current and projected increases in expenditures. The price of the elementary school lunch will be increased from $2.25 to $2.40, secondary lunch will be increased form $2.50 to $2.65, and the price of breakfast will be increased from $1.25 to $1.30. Prices will be effective on August 26, 2008.

Recognition of Distinguished Hispanic Scholars
The Board recognized six outstanding students who received scholarships from the Hispanic Employees Association of Montgomery County Public Schools. The Association annually recognizes the achievements of Hispanic American students.  An additional 19 students received gift certificate awards. The scholarship winners are: Jessica Lopez, Jemina Cornejo, Maria Belen Marquina, Juan Collazos, Eugenia Navarro and Antonio Castro Ossorio. 

Leadership Montgomery Youth Community Service Leadership Awards
The Board recognized five high school students who received Leadership Montgomery Youth Community Service Leadership awards in recognition of their outstanding community service and demonstration of leadership. The Board expressed appreciation to Leadership Montgomery and Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy and Ecker, P.A., for their leadership in honoring youth participation in community service.  The recognized students are: Komal Dilawari, Nikki Duong, Margaret Ellen Johnson, Ben Moskowitz, and Ben Simon.

Salute to Mr. Neal Potter
Vice President Shirley Brandman read a resolution from the Board honoring the life and community service of Mr. Neal Potter, former county executive and longtime member of the County Council. 

Appointment to the Ethics Panel
Kenneth Kellner was reappointed to the Board’s five-member Ethics Panel. Mr. Kellner will serve a three-year term effective July 1, 2008.

Board of Education: Mrs. Nancy Navarro, president. Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Mr. Steve Abrams, Mr. Christopher Barclay, Ms. Sharon Cox, Dr. Judy Docca, Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, and Mr. Ben Moskowitz, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617. 

<<Back to browse