Board of Education Honors Individuals, Organizations for Distinguished Service

October 20, 2011
The Montgomery County Board of Education honored 16 individuals and organizations during its annual Distinguished Service Awards ceremony on Thursday, October 20. The ceremony took place in the auditorium of the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville.

The Board established the awards to recognize and show appreciation for exemplary contributions to public education and to Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS).

Award winners are:

Community Individual

Laurie and Steve Augustino, who have kept the community informed of important hearings and meetings and spearheaded letter-writing and email campaigns. For more than 13 years, they have served in leadership roles and spent countless hours volunteering, including advocating for a new Gaithersburg High School.

Pamela H. Moomau, who has served in a variety of leadership capacities, including as PTA president at Kensington Parkwood Elementary School, PTSA vice president at Walter Johnson High School and chair of the Operating Budget Committee of the Montgomery County Council of PTAs.


Kaiser Permanente, which has partnered with the Montgomery County Business Roundtable for Education (MCBRE); encouraged and mentored high school students and hosted an awards ceremony for outstanding educators. Kaiser also partnered with MCPS to launch the innovative “MCPS on the Move” program in October 2010.

Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A., which was instrumental in the formation of the Montgomery County Automotive, Construction and Information Technology Foundations. The foundations provide students with classroom instruction and hands-on experience.

Whole Foods Market–Kentlands, which has sponsored Travilah Elementary School’s green efforts in a variety of ways. Employees of the store collect the school’s polystyrene lunch trays and recycle them; helped students design, build and maintain an organic flower garden at the school; and have taught students the benefits of incorporating vegetables and fruits into their diets.

School Service Volunteer

Don Hauprich is in his second two-year term as PTSA president at Paint Branch High School. He has helped mobilize community support for the building of the new high school, to open in the summer of 2012, and has been supportive of several other school initiatives.

Isabella Mia Lee, a student at Thomas S. Wootton High School, developed a Geography Club for students at Twinbrook Elementary School. She also coordinated a book drive for 575 students, who were able to take two books home with them during the summer.

James McMann is President of the Board of Directors of Interages, a Montgomery County nonprofit organization that has recruited and trained thousands of volunteers to read and to mentor students in the public schools over the last 25 years.

Individual Pioneer

Bruce Adams is director of Montgomery County’s Office of Community Partnerships. In 1997, he launched the Lazarus Leadership Fellows Program at Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, a highly competitive program that requires students to perform a 200-hour community service project during the summer and offers seminars with community leaders.

Bonnie Cullison has spent many years in public service to MCPS students. An educator who spent more than three decades serving special education students, Cullison also spent six years as president of the Montgomery County Education Association. She is currently working with the NEA Foundation for Innovation in Education and is a state delegate.

Stewart Edelstein is associate vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University System of Maryland and executive director of the Universities at Shady Grove. He has worked with MCPS leaders and has been invaluable in creating a K–16 pathway for students to follow from kindergarten to their bachelor's degrees.

MCPS Staff

Marla Caplon, director, Division of Food and Nutrition Services

Eric A. Davis, director, Department of Family and Community Partnerships

Denise Stultz, supervisor, Department of Family and Community Partnerships

Tuyet B. Tran, instructional specialist, ESOL Parent Outreach Services

<<Back to browse