Board of Education Discusses PROSPER 100; Receives Update on Reading Intervention Program; Recognizes Retirees; Appoints SMOB to Board Committees; Discusses New Business Items; Makes Several Administrative Appointments; and Presented Two New Business Items for Consideration at the Next Board Meeting

July 23, 2021

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) conducted a hybrid (virtual and in-person) business meeting on Thursday, July 15, 2021.  During the meeting, the Board received an update on PROSPER 100; recognized retirees; received an update on the reading intervention program at East Silver Spring Elementary School; made several administrative appointments; and presented two New Business resolutions. The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website.

Watch the recording of the July 15, 2021, meeting.

The Board received an update and held a discussion on PROSPER 100—Dr. Monifa McKnight’s vision for her first 100 days as interim superintendent. PROSPER 100 aligns with the system’s strategic priorities and highlights the commitments MCPS must make to students, staff and the community in its efforts to provide students with the educational experience they deserve.

PROSPER 100 entails—

P-Putting Students First

R- Renewing Relationships

O- Opening 5 Days a Week for In-Person Instruction

S- Supporting Staff to Meet Student Needs

P-Preparing for Our Future

E- Educating for Equity

R- Reestablishing the Culture of Respect

View the PowerPoint Presentation.

Mitigating Learning Disruption Through Schoolwide Reading Intervention

The Board received an update and held a discussion on the schoolwide reading intervention program at East Silver Spring Elementary School. Literacy instruction in early elementary school is closely correlated with a students’ subsequent academic success--and strong literacy skill acquisition unlocks subsequent engagement with written text and oral language, lays the groundwork for learning how to write coherently and lucidly, and contributes to future academic and civic successes. MCPS has made significant progress in its efforts to more comprehensively monitoring student learning—through the evidence of learning and equity-accountability models. Last year, the Board received an update on examples of targeted intervention strategies, including the Orton-Gillingham, Really Great Reading, and iReady mathematics programs. Staff provided the Board with an update on a partnership with the Lavinia group at East Silver Spring Elementary School, which has resulted in tremendous literacy gains. The system has collected data throughout the year which show the impact of the partnership by depicting student growth over time and outlining the clear, demonstrable impact of this intervention.

View the PowerPoint presentation.

Appointment of Student Member of the Board to Board Committees

Hana O’Looney, Student Member of the Board, was appointed to serve as a member of the Board’s Policy Management Committee and the Strategic Planning Committee until her term ends on June 30, 2022.

Read the resolution.

Recognition of Retirees

The Board approved a resolution recognizing staff who are retiring or have retired from MCPS.

Facilities and Construction

  • The Board reviewed and assessed the recommendations and comments of the Montgomery County Planning Board and approves the continuance of plans as designed to assure the Northwood High School addition/facility upgrades project maintains all safety, operational, and programmatic goals, standards and requirements.
  • The Board approved the preliminary plan report for the Ronald McNair Elementary School addition project, developed by Waldon Studio, Architects & Planners, PC.


The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Rachel C. DuBois, principal, Bayard Rustin Elementary School, as director, Department of Materials Management, Office of Finance and Operations (OFO)

Cassandra Heifetz, principal, Glen Haven Elementary School, as dean, Montgomery Virtual K-6 Academy, Office of Technology and Innovation (OTI), Office of Strategic Initiatives (OSI)

Steven E. Orders, coordinator, Roberto W. Clemente Middle School, as dean, Montgomery Virtual 7–12 Academy, OTI, OSI

John S. Landesman, coordinator, Study Circles, Equity Initiatives Unit, OSI, as executive director, OSI

Michael K. Lewis, supervisor, Safety/Training Unit, Department of Transportation (DOT), OFO, as executive director, OFO

Kathryn O. Broullire, currently staff development teacher, Richard Montgomery High School, as executive assistant, assistant chief of teaching, learning, and schools, OTLS

Jackie R. DeLucia, assistant principal, Rolling Terrace Elementary School, as supervisor, Montgomery Virtual K-6 Academy, OTI, OSI

Charles D. Ewald, information technology supervisor, DOT, OFO, as assistant director, DOT, OFO

Dacia F. Robertson, assistant principal, Francis Scott Key Middle School, as supervisor, Montgomery Virtual 7–12 Academy, OTI, OSI

Elizabeth M. Rogovoy, coordinator, Accelerated and Enriched Instruction, Department of College and Career Readiness and Districtwide Programs, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs, OTLS, as executive assistant, assistant chief of professional learning and development, Office of Human Resources and Development

Alicia M. Deeny, principal, Takoma Park Middle School, as principal, Richard Montgomery High School

Scott E. Smith, assistant principal, Seneca Valley High School, as principal, Northwest High School

John W. Taylor, principal, Cabin John Middle School, as principal, Winston Churchill High School

Jennifer A. Seidel, principal intern, Sequoyah Elementary School, as principal, Greenwood Elementary School

New Business Items

The Board of Education presented two New Business Items for consideration.  The New Business Items were tabled and will return to  the full Board for adoption at the July 27 Board meeting.  The New Business Items presented pertained to:

Future Meetings

The Board of Education is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, July 27, 2021.  The Board will meet in a hybrid format (in-person and virtually).  The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board of Education website and meeting calendar for further information. 

About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mrs. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Ms. Hana O’Looney, student member. Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, interim superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030. 


<<Back to browse