Board of Education Votes to Make Masks Optional; Discusses Mitigation of Learning Disruption, 2020–2021 Annual Report, Legislative Positions and Naming of Gaithersburg Elementary School #8

March 22, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on Tuesday, March 8, 2022. During the meeting, the Board voted unanimously, among those present, to make masks optional in Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS); discussed mitigation of learning disruption; discussed the annual report for 2020–2021; discussed legislative positions; adopted technical amendments to Board Policy JHF, Bullying, Harassment, or Intimidation; and discussed the naming of Gaithersburg Elementary School #8.  

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

Update on Mask Requirements and MCPS Facilities

The Board voted to make masks optional in MCPS schools and facilities, effective immediately. This action follows the state of Maryland’s decision to end its statewide mask mandate in schools and aligns with revised Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines that no longer recommend universal mask-wearing in schools.

Read the adopted resolution.

Read the community message.

Mitigation of Learning Disruption

The Board received an update on efforts to mitigate learning disruption that occurred as a result of the pandemic. In response to the impact on learning and to mitigate learning disruption, an instructional response plan has been implemented that includes six components: School Improvement Planning, Literacy and Mathematics Instructional Foci, Assessment of and for Learning, Acceleration of Learning, Tutoring/Intervention, and Professional Learning.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Annual Report 2020–2021

The Board discussed the 2020–2021 Annual Report. This interactive online report provides our community with information about who we are, student performance data, operational performance data, and the steps taken to fulfill the vision and mission of MCPS during the 2020‒2021 school year.

The report is designed to serve as an easily accessible, digital compendium of information and key system, student, and staff data points for the 2020‒2021 school year. It aggregates the information to provide a comprehensive view of the 2020‒2021 school year.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint Presentation.

Recommended Legislative Positions

The Board discussed and voted on recommended positions on proposed state legislation that could impact MCPS.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Board Policy JHF

Board of Education adopted technical amendments to Board Policy JHF, Bullying, Harassment, or Intimidation, to comply with state law.

Read the adopted Board resolution.

View the PowerPoint Presentation.

Naming of Gaithersburg Elementary School #8

The naming process has begun for Gaithersburg Elementary School #8. The Board submitted the following names to the principal of Gaithersburg Elementary School #8 for consideration by the school naming committee:

  • Kelley Park
  • Celia Cruz
  • Cesar Chavez

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Thursday, March 24, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Ms. Hana O’Looney, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, interim superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.


<<Back to browse