Board of Education Receives an Update on International Admissions and Enrollment; Takes Tentative Action on Board Policy ABA; Discusses Legislative Positions; Views Preliminary Plans for Crown High School Project; Approves a District Committee on Assessments; and Approves Administrative Appointments

April 1, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on March 24, 2022. During the meeting, the Board received an update on international admissions and enrollment; took tentative action on Board Policy ABA, Community Involvement; discussed legislative positions; viewed preliminary plans for the Crown High School project; approved a district committee on assessments; and made several administrative appointments.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

International Admissions and Enrollment Update

The Board received an update on international admissions and enrollment and how Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) welcomes international students and provides social emotional and academic support. The Board heard about updates to the intake process, the vision for a new welcome center, and academic supports. It also received an enrollment update.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint presentation.

Policy ABA, Community Involvement

The Board voted to take tentative action on Policy ABA, Community Involvement. The recommended draft of the policy will be sent out for public comment.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint presentation.

Legislative Items

The Board discussed and voted on recommended positions on proposed state legislation that could impact MCPS.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Preliminary Plans for Crown High School Project

The Board reviewed preliminary plans for Crown High School in Gaithersburg and voted to accept the presentation.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Approval of District Committee on Assessments

The Board voted to approve a district assessment committee, comprising administrators, parents/guardians, teachers, and a student, to advise and make recommendations in the following areas:

● the time required to administer each assessment;

● the duplication of assessments;

● the purpose of assessments;

● the value of feedback provided to educators; and

● the timeline of results.

In spring 2017, the Maryland General Assembly passed the More Learning, Less Testing Act of 2017, setting a limit on the amount of time that may be devoted to locally mandated assessment. The legislation compels school districts to ensure that all locally mandated assessments are clear in their purpose, time limited, worth taking, high quality, and tied to improved student learning. It also requires the formation of a district assessment committee.

Read the memorandum to the Board.


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Stephanie H. Wallace, currently school social worker, Howard County Public Schools, as supervisor, social workers, Office of Student and Family Support and Engagement

Mary Jane Q. Ennis, currently acting principal, Georgian Forest Elementary School, as principal, Georgian Forest Elementary School

Kathryn C. West, currently acting principal, Bayard Rustin Elementary School, as principal, Bayard Rustin Elementary School


The Board approved the following recognitions:

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Thursday, April 7, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Ms. Hana O’Looney, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, interim superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse