Board of Education Appoints 11 Administrators

June 26, 2007
Board Appoints 11 Administrators, Sets Tuition for Nonresident Students, and Postpones Decision on Boundary Study of Hampshire Greens Community

The Board of Education met on Monday (June 25) and, among other items, appointed 11 administrators and reviewed the Montgomery County Planning Board’s draft Annual Growth Policy. New tuition levels were approved for nonresident students. The Board also recognized recipients and sponsors of scholarships from the Riderwood Village Retirement Community and the Maryland Vietnamese Mutual Association, as well as MCPS employees who received degrees or certificates from the University/College Partnerships Program. The Board appointed members to the Montgomery County Collaboration Board for Career and Technology Education and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Family Life and Human Development. The Board also extended the tenure of the Special Education Continuous Improvement Team Advisory Committee and postponed making a decision concerning the middle school boundary for the Hampshire Greens Community.

Board Postpones Decision on Boundary Study

The Board postponed making a decision on the middle school boundary recommendation for the Hampshire Greens Community. It is anticipated that the Board will decide this matter at its July 17 meeting.

Annual Growth Policy Review—2007

The Board of Education adopted a resolution regarding the Planning Board’s recommendations on the Annual Growth Policy.  The Board supported the Planning Board’s recommendations to use MCPS program capacity in the school test for imposition of the school facilities payment (at or over 110 percent), the imposition of a building moratorium (at or over 135 percent capacity), and the dedication of the recordation tax to MCPS capital projects. Expressing concern about the unintended consequences of increased rates on the quality of life of the children in impacted communities, the Board voted to urge the County Council to conduct a thorough economic analysis of the impact of the Planning Board's proposed tax and fee rates on the cost of housing in Montgomery County.

Special Education Continuous Improvement Team Advisory Committee

The Board extended the tenure and membership of the Special Education Continuous Improvement Team Advisory Committee for two years beyond the current expiration date of June 30, 2007. The committee will identify measures of special education program equity and effectiveness, develop guidelines for dissemination of those measures, and foster the use of best practices throughout the Department of Special Education.


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Laurie C. Bricker, currently assistant principal, Gaithersburg High School, as supervisor, Outdoor Education Program

Andrew W. Miller, currently instructional technology specialist, Office of Organizational Development, as administrative assistant, Office of Organizational Development

Darryl L. Williams, currently principal, Gaithersburg High School, as principal, Montgomery Blair High School

Cheryl A. Bunyan, currently assistant principal, Flower Valley Elementary School, as principal, Greenwood Elementary School

Judith F. Lewis, currently associate superintendent, Staff Development, School District of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, as principal, Wheaton Woods Elementary School

Kevin A. Hobbs, currently principal, Parkland Middle School, as principal, Watkins Mill High School

Carolyn Cobbs, currently principal, Twinbrook Elementary School, as principal, Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School

Stephanie B. Curry, currently principal intern, Rolling Terrace Elementary School, as principal, Clopper Mill Elementary School

Donald D. Masline, currently principal, Georgian Forest Elementary School, as principal, Forest Knolls Elementary School

Elaine L. Chang-Baxter, currently executive assistant to the deputy superintendent, Office of Information and Organizational Systems, as principal, Garrett Park Elementary School

Nicole M. Priestly, currently acting principal, Highland View Elementary School, as principal, South Lake Elementary School

Tuition for Nonresident Students for FY 2008

The Board increased the tuition rates for nonresident students for the 2007-2008 school year as follows:

Elementary (including kindergarten) from $12,636 to $13,790
Secondary from $12,234 to $13,627
Special education from $24,946 to $27,919

Appointment of Members to the Montgomery County Collaboration Board for Career and Technology Education

The Board appointed fourteen individuals, subject to the concurrence of the Board of Trustees of Montgomery College, to serve a one-year term on the Montgomery County Collaboration Board for Career and Technology Education, effective July 1, 2007. They are Michael L. Subin, Lisa McDonald, Cathy Hickling, Mark Drury, Stewart Edelstein, Sanj Malushte, Jim Sturges, Bruce Allentuck, Andy Chaves, Marshall Weston, James Collins, Harold Redden, Massielle Begazo, and Tana Smith. Thomas DeGonia, a current member of the Collaboration Board, will become president.

Appointment of Members to the Citizens Advisory Committee on Family Life and Human Development

The Board approved the following appointments to the Citizens Advisory Committee on Family Life and Human Development. Appointments are for two years for adults and one year (July through June) for students.


Benjamin Elkind (student) representing the Montgomery County Region of the Maryland Association of Student Councils
Tracy Fox representing Montgomery County Council of PTAs
Ruth Jacobs representing Citizens for Responsible Curriculum
James Kennedy representing
Richelle Meer representing NARAL Pro-Choice Maryland
Peter Sprigg representing Parents and Friends of Ex-Gays and Gays
Emily Wurtz representing Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays

Community at Large

Margaret Ellen Johnson (student)
DeBora King
Catherine Lane
Isabelle Melese-d’Hospital
Matthew Murguia
Esther Pinder
Carol Plotsky, chair
Elinor Walker, vice chair

Recognition of Riderwood Village Retirement Community Scholarship Recipients

The Board recognized Riderwood Village Retirement Community and 24 recipients of scholarships from the Riderwood Scholars Fund. The fund offers up to $4,000 per student to support high school students who are part-time staff members at Riderwood as they continue their formal post-secondary education. Primary contributors to the fund are residents of Riderwood Village.

Recognition of Vietnamese Scholars

The Board recognized Rockville High School student Van Nguyen, the recipient of this year’s Maryland Vietnamese Mutual Association academic scholarship award.

Recognition of MCPS–University Partnerships

The Board recognized the more than 200 MCPS employees who have received degrees or certification through partnership programs with local colleges and universities this year. The Board also recognized and thanked the eight colleges and universities that participate in the partnership programs (Bowie State University, Columbia Union College, Hood College, Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland, Towson University, Trinity University, and George Washington University). The partnerships are developed collaboratively between MCPS and the institutions of higher learning to make it easier for employees to further their education in areas that align with the school system’s goals and priorities.

Board of Education: Mrs. Nancy Navarro, president. Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Mr. Steve Abrams, Mr. Christopher Barclay, Ms. Sharon Cox, Dr. Judy Docca, Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, and Ms. Sarah Horvitz, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse