Instructional Video Series on Local Government Receives National "Telly" Award

March 2, 2000
The MCPS instructional video series, "Local Government--Who Cares," has won a national Telly Award.

The six-part series, which follows the MCPS curriculum guide, was made specifically to enhance the curriculum for national, state and local government in MCPS high schools. Every school received a copy this year for classroom use.

Instructional Television specialist Paula Rehr wrote, directed and produced the series for the Social Studies Office in the Department of Academic Programs. It was shot and edited by Mike Murdock of Millennium Productions in Bethesda.

The series features the talents of students Dan Schmidt from Col. Zadok Magruder High School and Shannon Payne of Rockville High School. Teachers Chris Berry from James Hubert Blake High School, Nicole Little from Rockville High School, and retired teachers Bev Canaday and Gary Clarke worked on the content.

The Telly Awards was founded in 1980 to showcase and give recognition to outstanding non-network and cable TV commercials. The competition was expanded several years ago to include film and video productions and non-network TV programming.

More than 11,000 entries were received in 1999, with 7-10 percent of those who submitted entries winning awards.

<<Back to browse