Board Statement on Passing of Councilmember Don Praisner

January 30, 2009
The Montgomery County Board of Education, on behalf of the children and staff of Montgomery County Public Schools, sends sincere condolences to the family of County Councilmember Don Praisner, who passed away today. It is a sad day for all of us as we salute Mr. Praisner’s contributions to our county.

Mr. Praisner was a longtime community activist who cared deeply for the well-being of the citizens of Montgomery County. During his tenure on the Council, as he filled the seat left vacant by the passing of his wife, Marilyn Praisner, he won our respect for his dedication and careful attention to the pressing issues facing our county. His love for our county was never in doubt and he maintained a quiet, but persistent determination to keep alive the Praisner legacy of selfless service and loyalty to the citizens of Montgomery County.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Shirley Brandman, president; Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, vice president. Members: Mr. Christopher Barclay, Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Nancy Navarro, and Ms. Quratul-Ann Malik, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected county-wide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

<<Back to browse