Principal and Teacher Receive NAACP-MCPS Awards

April 16, 2009
Paint Branch High School Principal and Mill Creek Towne Elementary School Teacher Receive the NAACP-MCPS Principal and Teacher of the Year Awards

The Montgomery County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and Montgomery County Public Schools are proud to announce Mrs. Jeanette E.Dixon, principal of Paint Branch High School, and Ms. Angel L. Mason, kindergarten teacher at Mill Creek Towne Elementary School, as the inaugural recipients of the NAACP-MCPS Outstanding Principal and Teacher of the Year Awards for 2009.

Mrs. Dixon has devoted her entire 26 year career in education to the students of MCPS and has been a principal for 12 years. She taught social studies for 10 years before she became an administrator in 1993. This year, the College Board recognized Paint Branch High School for increasing access to Advanced Placement (AP) classes, particularly among African American students. The Paint Branch High School Class of 2008 led the nation in the percentage of African American graduates who earned a 3 or higher in the AP World History exam. Paint Branch High School increased the percentage of all students taking at least one AP exam from 30.2 percent in 2000 to 58.1 percent in 2008. The percentage increase of students at the school earning a 3 or more on an AP exam rose from 24.9 percent to 40.5 percent in the same time period. Mr. John W. Haas, assistant principal, at Paint Branch High School wrote in his letter nominating Mrs. Dixon, “There are times when one person comes along who makes a special difference—a difference that invigorates and inspires a school community to believe in and achieve more than previously imagined.”

Ms. Mason has taught in MCPS for the past 15 years and has been described by her principal, Mr. Kenneth L. Marcus, as an inspiration to the Mill Creek Towne Elementary School community. She uses data to ensure that her students are receiving an optimal education that will allow them to reach their goals. Ms. Mason exhibits a high level of involvement and dedication to her students and school community. In addition to teaching kindergarten, she serves as the team leader, coordinates an annual “Walk for the Homeless,” and assists local families in need through the “Giving Tree.”

Mrs. Dixon and Ms. Mason will be honored at the Annual NAACP Freedom Fund Dinner on April 26, 2009, at Mount Calvary Baptist Church. Mr. Henry Hailstock, president of the NAACP Montgomery County Branch, said, “An exemplary education for students requires exceptional educators. The NAACP is honored to celebrate the accomplishments of these outstanding leaders in MCPS.” For ticket information, please contact Mr. Hailstock at 301-924-4580.

<<Back to browse