Twenty-three MCPS Students Named National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists

September 25, 2013
Twenty-three students from Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) have been selected as semifinalists in the 2014 National Achievement Scholarship competition. The scholarship program, administered by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, recognizes academically promising African American students across the nation and awards college scholarships to hundreds of students each year.

More than 160,000 students requested consideration for the National Achievement Scholarship Program and approximately 1,600 were named as semifinalists. The semifinalists are chosen based on their performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year. Approximately 80 percent of the semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalist level and more than half of the finalists will be awarded with scholarships next spring.

Last year, 22 MCPS students from nine schools were named as semifinalists and 11 received scholarships. This year, the semifinalists represent 12 high schools throughout MCPS.

The MCPS semifinalists are:

Montgomery Blair High School
Alexander N. Bourzutschky
Isaac N. Jiffar
Siméon K. Kakpovi
Fiona H. Lachman
Christian D. Lanier
Callahan Mayer Marks
Michelle G. McGhee
Paris M. Parker-Loan

James Hubert Blake High School
Miles A. Douglas
Thomas J. Stanton

Albert Einstein High School
Cecile-Emmanuelle A. Kenny

Paint Branch High School
Lacey M. Walker

Poolesville High School
Connor M. Lugo-Harris
Ekiomoado A. Olumese

Rockville High School
Amanda M. Gardner

Richard Montgomery High School
Phoebe Y Barnes
Matthew H Daniels
Tristan Paige

Springbrook High School
William U. Uko

Wheaton High School
Christopher J. McDougall

Thomas S. Wootton High School
Jackson I. Pierce Felker

Walter Johnson High School
Jean Marc Nugent

Walt Whitman High School
Garrett P. Hickel

<<Back to browse