MCPS Students Win National Achievement Scholarships

April 9, 2014
Seven high school seniors from Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) have been selected as 2014 National Achievement Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This highly selective scholarship competition recognizes outstanding academic achievement of African American high school seniors across the United States.

Winners are awarded $2,500 scholarships, which are privately financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and grants from corporate organizations and professional associations. The MCPS recipients are among 800 seniors across the nation and 40 in the state of Maryland who have been awarded scholarships.

The program, established in 1964, honors scholastically talented African American students and has awarded more than $100 million in college scholarships over the last 50 years. More information about the National Achievement Scholarship Program is available at

The 2014 MCPS winners and their high schools are:

Montgomery Blair High School
Christian D. Lanier
Callahan Mayer Marks
Michelle G. McGhee
Paris M. Parker-Loan

Paint Branch High School
Lacey M. Walker

Poolesville High School
Ekiomoado A. Olumese

Walter Johnson High School
Jean Marc Nugent

<<Back to browse