Youth Leadership Montgomery Participants Receive $1,000 Community Service Awards

June 12, 2001
Four Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students who were part of the Youth Leadership Montgomery Class of 2001 have received $1,000 awards for their outstanding leadership in developing and implementing service learning activities in their communities. Three MCPS students received honorable mention awards. Two private school students also received awards.

The award-winning students and the schools they attend are:

John F. Kennedy High School: Dustin Duncan
Walter Johnson High School: Elyse Grossman and Sarah Sherman-Stokes
Wheaton High School: Matthew Whorral
Stone Ridge School: Brianne Burke

The students chosen to receive honorable mention recognition are:

Walt Whitman High School: Matthew Hamilton
Col. Zadok Magruder High School: Katherine McQueen
Walter Johnson High School: Todd Rosenthal
Emily Uhre: Holton-Arms School

Thirty students participated in Youth Leadership Montgomery this year. The nine-week leadership program provides an opportunity for interested students to explore the challenges that leaders face in the community and develop their own leadership skills.

Youth Leadership Montgomery, initiated in 1996, is co-sponsored by Leadership Montgomery, Montgomery County Public Schools, Discovery Communications, Inc., and community leader Ray Schoenke. Scholarships are provided by the law firm of Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy and Ecker, P.A. of Rockville.

<<Back to browse