Board of Education Receives an Update on School Safety; Votes on the Naming of Richard Montgomery Elementary School #5; and Takes Action on Policies

April 16, 2018

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) met on Thursday, April 12, 2018, at Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville.  During the meeting, the Board received an update on school safety; voted on the naming of Richard Montgomery Elementary School #5; took final action on Board Policy IEA, Framework and Structure of Early Childhood and Elementary Education, and tentative action on Board policies FAA, Long-range Educational Facilities Planning and Policy JED, Residency, Tuition and Enrollment; and received a legislative session overview.

The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website.

Update on School Safety

The Board of Education received a presentation on the efforts being made by Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) leadership to address key priorities in order to improve the safety and security in MCPS schools with a focus on: data-driven accountability for school safety and positive school culture across the district; effective allocation, utilization, and management of school security personnel and other MCPS staff; technology infrastructure, including security cameras and their use; facility enhancements to restrict or limit access to more isolated areas of school buildings and grounds; procedures and practices for supporting positive student behavior throughout the school day; systemwide prevention and early intervention programs; and collaboration with law enforcement and other partner agencies. 

Read the Final Security Report.

Read the Board’s resolution in support of efforts to create safer, more peaceful schools.

Naming of Richard Montgomery Elementary School #5

The Board of Education voted to name Richard Montgomery Elementary School #5 after Bayard Rustin. The naming process for the school began in February 2018 with the Board suggesting the following four names:  Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School, Emily Catherine Edmonson Elementary School, Josiah Henson Elementary School, and Bayard Rustin Elementary School.   The Board asked the School Naming Advisory Committee to consider those names, as well as look at other suggestions from the community. The committee was chaired by Mrs. Rachel C. DuBois, the principal of the new school, and included community members and parents of students who will attend the school. The School Naming Advisory Committee recommended six names for the Board’s consideration:  Lillian Brown Elementary School; Dogwood Elementary School; Emily Catherine Edmonson Elementary School; Bayard Rustin Elementary School; Josiah Henson Elementary School; and Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School. Although the recommendation of the committee is taken very seriously, the final decision for naming schools rests with the Board of Education. See Policy FFA, Naming School FacilitiesBayard Rustin Elementary School will open in September of 2018.  

Read the Board’s adopted resolution.

Action on Board Policies

Final Action on Policy IEA, Framework and Structure of Early Childhood and Elementary Education:

On December 5, 2017, the Board of Education took tentative action on Board Policy IEA, Framework and Structure of Early Childhood and Elementary Education, and sent it out for public comment.  Feedback from the community was received and incorporated into the policy.  At its April 12, 2018, meeting, the Board took final action on Policy IEA.

Read the Policy Committee chair’s memorandum to the Board.

Tentative Action on Policy FAA, Long-range Education Facilities Planning:

The Board of Education’s Policy Management Committee proposed revisions to Board Policy FAA, Long-range Education Facilities Planning, including a change in the policy name to Educational Facilities Planning.  The policy incorporates elements from Policy FKB, Sustaining and Modernizing Buildings, as well as language from the MGT of America Consulting report relative to the growth management plan for MCPS.  The policy also includes guidance on boundaries, site selection and school closures.  Staff also provided a summary of the most recent changes and the process for updating the policy.  Changes to the policy address key facility indicators for the assessment process; the overall process of facilities planning; and the integration of community input during every stage of the capital budget planning process.  The Board voted to approve an amendment to the committee draft and took tentative action.  The policy, as amended, will be sent out for public comment to receive feedback from the community.

Read the memorandum to the Board and the Committee Recommended Draft of Policy FAA.

Tentative Action on Policy JED, Residency, Tuition, and Enrollment:

The Board of Education’s Policy Management Committee proposed revisions to Policy JED, Residency, Tuition and Enrollment, including changing the policy index code to JEA, and recommended the revised policy for tentative action.    Given that the Board voted to take tentative action, the policy will be sent out for public comment to receive feedback from the community.

Read the memorandum to the Board and the Committee Recommended Draft of Policy

Legislation Session Overview

The legislative aide to the Board of Education presented a summary of the 2018 legislative session, as well as outcomes for various legislation.  She reported that, of the 3,127 bills that were introduced, 890 were successful.

Read the memorandum to the Board and the attachment

Facilities and School Construction

The Board of Education accepted the Diamond Elementary School Addition Project and the Silver Creek Middle School Project.

Administrative Appointments

The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:
Tamitha E. Campbell, currently Principal, Briggs Chaney Middle School, as Consulting Principal, Department of Professional Growth Systems, Office of Human Resources and Development

Jon Green, currently Acting Principal, John Poole Middle School, as Principal, John Poole Middle School

Audra M. Fladung, currently Director of School Support and Improvement of Elementary Schools, Office of School Support and Improvement, as Principal, Westover Elementary School

Christine D. Oberdorf, currently Principal Intern/Assistant Principal, Brown Station Elementary School, as Principal, Piney Branch Elementary School

Maria D. Watson, currently Assistant Principal, Burning Tree Elementary School, as Principal Laytonsville Elementary School


The Board approved the following resolutions:

Future Meetings

The Board of Education will hold its next regular business meeting on Tuesday, April 24, 2018.  Please check the Board of Education website and meeting calendar for further information


About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Michael Durso, president; Mrs. Shebra Evans, vice president. Members: Ms. Jeanette E. Dixon, Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, Ms. Jill Ortman-Fouse, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Matthew Post, student member. Dr. Jack R. Smith, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.







<<Back to browse