Ananya Tadikonda Elected as Next Student Member of the Board

April 25, 2018

Ananya Tadikonda, a junior at Richard Montgomery High School, has been elected the Student Member of the Board of Education (SMOB) for the 2018-2019 school year. Ms. Tadikonda’s term begins on July 1, 2018.

All secondary students were eligible to vote in the SMOB election and 83.6 percent cast ballots. Ms. Tadikonda received 51 percent of the vote, while her opponent, Nimah Nayel, also a junior at Richard Montgomery, received 49 percent.

Ms. Tadikonda currently serves as the Montgomery County Regional (MCR) Student Government Association Vice President. She also serves on the executive board for the Maryland Association of Student Councils and as Co-President of MoCo EmpowHER.

The SMOB is a voting member of the Montgomery County Board of Education. The SMOB can vote on matters related to collective bargaining, capital and operating budgets, and school closings, reopenings and boundaries. The SMOB cannot vote on negative personnel actions.  The SMOB is not paid, but receives a $5,000 college scholarship, student service learning hours, and one honors-level social studies credit.

Ms. Tadikona will replace the current SMOB, Matthew Post, a senior from Sherwood High School who will graduate in May.

For more information, visit the Student Member of the Board website.  

<<Back to browse