Board of Education Receives an Update on Progress and Performance and a Presentation on Resource Allocation, Use, and Equity; Votes on the Naming of Clarksburg Village Site #2 Elementary School; and Receives a Legislative Overview

May 1, 2019

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) met on Monday, April 29, 2019, at Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville.  During the meeting, the Board received an update on progress and performance and a presentation on resource allocation, use, and equity; voted on the naming of Clarksburg Village Site #2 Elementary School; and received a legislative overview.

The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website.

Update on Progress and Performance

Staff members provided the Board with Part 1 of a two-part presentation regarding the progress and performance of Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students, which included information about how students in Grades 3, 6 and 9, transitioned to intermediate, middle, and high school, based on Evidence of Learning data. This data uses common measures and provides schools with an opportunity to review progress and make appropriate adjustments so that students can achieve the Evidence of Learning outcomes for their grade level. During the presentation, three additional components of the Equity Accountability Model were released:  Graduation, Limited English Proficiency, and Students with Disabilities system-level data.

In addition, representatives from Education Resource Strategies (ERS), MCPS partners, shared information about equitable practices using the lens of Dimensions of Equity, which includes:  School Funding, Teaching Quality, Empowering, Rigorous Curriculum and Coursework, Instructional Time and Attention, Diverse and Inclusive Schools, and Whole Child Approach. On June 11, 2019, ERS will share additional findings with the Board.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Naming of Clarksburg Village Site #2 Elementary School

The Board voted to name Clarksburg Village Site #2 Elementary School the Snowden Farm Elementary School, after the Snowden Family, a local family that settled in the area and founded a dairy farm in 1845. The naming process for the school began in March 12, 2019, with the Board of Education suggesting the following four names:  Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School, Harriet R. Tubman Elementary School, Clarksburg Village Elementary School, and Ida B. Wells Elementary School.   The Board asked the School Naming Advisory Committee to consider those names, as well as look at other suggestions from the community. The committee was chaired by Mrs. Yolanda R. Allen, the principal of the new school, and included community members and parents of students who will attend the school. The School Naming Advisory Committee recommended six names for the Board’s consideration, in order of preference: Snowden Farm Elementary School; Michelle Obama Elementary School; Harriet R. Tubman Elementary School; Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School; Ida B. Wells Elementary School; and Clarksburg Village Elementary School. Although the recommendation of the committee is taken very seriously, the final decision rests with the Board of Education.   Snowden Farm Elementary School will open in September 2019.

Read the adopted resolution.

Legislation Session Overview

The Board’s Staff Assistant for Governmental Affairs and Community Outreach Danielle Susskind presented a final analysis of the education-related legislation passed for 2019.

Read the memorandum to the Board, Attachment A and Attachment B.

Facilities and School Construction

The Board accepted the Bayard Rustin Elementary School project.

The Board accepted the North Bethesda Middle School addition project.

The Board also approved the architectural appointment for the Charles W. Woodward High School reopening project.

Administrative Appointment

The Board approved the following administrative appointment:
Khanny Yang, currently principal, Parkland Middle, as director, Leadership Development Unit


The Board approved the resolution declaring May 2019 as Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month.

The Board approved the resolution declaring May 2019 as Jewish American Heritage Month.

The Board also approved the resolution declaring May 8, 2019 as National Bike to School Day.

Future Meetings

The Board of Education will hold its next regular business meeting Tuesday, May 14, 2019.  Please check the Board of Education website and meeting calendar for further information. 

About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, president; Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, vice president. Members: Ms. Jeanette E. Dixon, Dr. Judith Docca, Ms. Karla Silvestre, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, Ms. Brenda Wolff, and Ms. Ananya Tadikonda, student member. Dr. Jack R. Smith, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.







<<Back to browse