Fourteen Students Receive Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

April 28, 2017

Fourteen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) seniors from seven high schools have been awarded corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships. These scholarships, which range from $500 to $10,000, are financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations. 

The students are among 25 high school seniors in Maryland and more than 1,000 seniors nationwide to be selected as part of the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholars were selected from a pool of 15,000 students who were finalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met the criteria of their scholarship sponsors.

Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who reside in the communities they serve, or who plan to pursue college majors and careers the sponsor wishes to support.
The MCPS winners are:

Montgomery Blair High School

Amy Borton
Sandeep David

Simin Li

Winston Churchill High School

Jennifer Chen
Sheila Gaur

Richard Montgomery High School

Taylor Balfour
Jessica Ji
Fonda Shen
Katherine Wang
Heavenly Zheng

Northwest High School

Erika Schlunk

Poolesville High School

Caroline Leng

Thomas S. Wootton High School

Abbie Tran

Walter Johnson High School

Evelien van Gelderen




<<Back to browse