Six Named Presidential Semifinalists

April 16, 2003
Six high school seniors have been named semifinalists for the 2003 Presidential Scholars awards, one of the highest honors given to high school seniors in the United States.

The students - three from Montgomery Blair High School and one each from Albert Einstein, Richard Montgomery and Walt Whitman high schools - are among about 500 semifinalists selected nationwide for the academic component of the program and up to 160 selected in eight different arts disciplines.

The students are among 14 semifinalists from the state of Maryland. The number of semifinalists from each state or jurisdiction is based on a proportionate number of test takers for that state.

The Montgomery County Public Schools semifinalists are:

§ Christina Feng, Montgomery Blair High School
§ Samantha N. Hong, Montgomery Bair High School
§ Lisa Leung, Montgomery Blair High School
§ Carolyn A. Murphy, Richard Montgomery High School
§ Leslie J. Smith, Albert Einstein High School (arts winner)
§ Anushka M. Sunder, Walt Whitman High School

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of private citizens appointed by the president, will select the scholars later this month. For the academic awards, the commission will choose one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and from U.S. students living abroad, and 15 students at-large. In addition, up to 20 students from the creative and performing arts will be selected for the arts awards.

In June, scholars will receive Presidential Scholars medallions at a White House ceremony and participate in other activities during Scholars Week.

<<Back to browse