Board of Education Meeting Highlights for April 23

April 24, 2003
The Board of Education met on Wednesday [April 23] and, among other items, tentatively approved a policy on student curricular expenses and appointed four principals. In addition, the Board recognized the observance of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month and National Student Leadership Week.

Policy JNA, Student Curricular Expenses

The Board tentatively approved amended Policy JNA, Student Curricular (Out-of-Pocket) Expenses, that would set forth the objectives to be followed with regard to student expenses related to the instructional program. The policy revision emphasizes that all students, regardless of their economic circumstances, will be provided access to all courses and the instructional materials required for those courses.

The policy clarifies the types of supplemental expenses students may incur, and communicates the Board’s expectation that students and parents be informed of fees during the registration process. The draft policy will be sent out for public comment.


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

· E. Moreno Carrasco, currently principal of Eastern Middle School, as principal of Richard Montgomery High School.

· Suzanne Maxey, currently principal of Bowie High School, Prince George's County Public Schools, as principal of Seneca Valley High School.

· Alton E. Sumner, currently assistant principal at Wheaton High School, as principal of North Bethesda Middle School.

· Mary Beth Waits, currently assistant principal at Paint Branch High School, as principal of E. Brooke Lee Middle School.

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

The Board approved the observance of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month in May to recognize and celebrate the contributions of Asian Pacific Americans to the country, state, and county.

National Student Leadership Week

The Board approved the observance of National Student Leadership Week from April 20-26 to commend student leaders for their efforts and achievements on behalf of Montgomery County Public Schools.

Board of Education: Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, president; Ms. Sharon W. Cox, vice president. Members: Mr. Kermit V. Burnett, Mr. Reginald M. Felton, Dr. Charles Haughey, Mr. Walter N. Lange, Mr. Gabe Romero, and Mr. Mihyar Alnifaidy, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse