Fourteen MCPS Students Receive Full-Tuition Posse Scholarships

January 14, 2020

Fourteen MCPS students have been named recipients of full-tuition, four-year college scholarships from the Posse Foundation. The Posse program identifies public high school students with extraordinary academic and leadership potential that may have been overlooked by traditional college selection processes.

Nationally, 58 colleges and universities each offer full-tuition, merit scholarships to students throughout the country and create multicultural teams—called Posses—on each campus. These student teams receive professional guidance before and throughout college and provide support to one another.

On campus, these students serve in important leadership roles. The MCPS students were honored at a ceremony on Jan. 8.

This year’s recipients come from 12 high schools and will attend five different colleges. The Posse Scholars from MCPS and the colleges they will be attending are:

Montgomery Blair High School

Mahlet Tedla, University of Rochester

James Hubert Blake High School

Cyrus Wilson, Sewanee: The University of the South

Clarksburg High School      

Tiani Williams, Sewanee: The University of the South

John F. Kennedy High School

Brailin Reyes, Sewanee: The University of the South

Northwood High School

Jared Flores, Bucknell University

Quince Orchard High School

Jefferson Guerra, Sewanee: The University of the South

Richard Montgomery High School

Leah Bulbula, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Rockville High School

Lucas Glander, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jailen Anderson, Bucknell University

Springbrook High School

Redeit Woldebirhan, Bucknell University

Watkins Mill High School    

Fahad Habona, Lafayette College

Rut Bonilla, University of Rochester

Walt Whitman High School

Jordan Shaibani, Lafayette College

Thomas S. Wootton High School

Kwabena Frimpong, University of Wisconsin-Madison

<<Back to browse