Board of Education Discusses Recovery of Education; Approves 2021–2022 Traditional and Innovative School Year Calendars; Takes Final Action on Board Policy IQD; and Makes Several Administrative Appointments

April 1, 2021

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) conducted a hybrid (virtual and in-person) business meeting on Tuesday, March 23, 2021.  During the meeting, the Board received an update on Montgomery County Public Schools’ (MCPS) recovery plan and voted to accelerate the timeline of student return; approved the 2021–2022 Traditional and Innovative School Year calendars; took final action on Policy IQD; and made several administrative appointments. The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website.

Watch the recording of the March 23, 2021, meeting.

Recovery of Education
The Board received an update and held a discussion on MCPS’ recovery of education plan. The Board unanimously voted to allow MCPS to speed up the timeline for the return of student groups. Students in Phase II, groups 2.1 and 2.2 will be combined and both groups will start a phased-return by April 19, 2021. To help reduce the potential spread of COVID-19 in schools once people return from spring break, the Board voted to make Tuesday, April 6, a virtual learning day for all students. Wednesday, April 7, will remain a virtual day as scheduled. Students scheduled to return on April 6 (Group 1.2) will return to buildings on Thursday, April 8.  COVID-19 pool testing for students and staff participating in in-person learning will begin after spring break. Testing will be rolled out in phases, with the program beginning in schools on Thursday, April 8. The Board also received an update on summer school planning. MCPS is planning a range of summer programs for elementary, middle, and high school students. Programs will help address learning loss, with a focus on mathematics, literacy, electives, and preparing for the next grade level. Elementary and middle schools will offer programs that include mathematics, literacy, and specials/electives. At the high school level, there will be opportunities to earn credits in all subject areas required for graduation, for both repeat and original credit, as well as non-credit options in local schools. 

View the PowerPoint Presentation.
Read the Community Update.

2021–2022 Traditional and Innovative School Year Calendars

The Board voted to approve a 2021–2022 traditional school year calendar. The school year will begin on August 30, 2021, and end on June 15, 2022 (scenario 1). The Board also voted to approve the 2021-2022 Innovative School Year Calendar for Arcola and Roscoe R. Nix elementary schools.

Read the resolution and see the adopted calendars.

Final Action, Board Policy IQD, Academic Eligibility for Extracurricular Activities

The Board took final action on Policy IQD, Academic Eligibility for Extracurricular Activities. On November 10, 2020, the Board tentatively adopted revised draft Policy IQD. Policy IQD encourages student engagement in school through a variety of extracurricular activities including, but not limited to, interscholastic sports, student government, fine arts, academic teams, and other group activities as an essential part of a complete educational experience. Policy IQD reaffirms the commitment of the Board to providing an array of extracurricular opportunities, with and without academic eligibility requirements. The tentatively adopted policy was distributed for public comment. The updated policy sets forth academic eligibility requirements for students participating in interscholastic sports, with certain exemptions from these requirements for middle school students in the first marking period of their first year of middle school, and for high school students in the first three marking periods of their first year of high school.

Read the Board memorandum.

Updated Calendar of Major Events for the Election of the 44th Student Member of the Board of Education

On December 3, 2020, the Board approved a resolution outlining the updated calendar of events for the election of the 44th student member of the Board (Attachment). Montgomery MCPS and the Montgomery County Region of the Maryland Association of Student Councils continue to plan for the annual election of the student member of the Board. Upon review of the MCPS spring calendar, the date for the election has been rescheduled from Wednesday, April 21, 2021, to Thursday, April 22, 2021, and Friday, April 23, 2021. This change aims to accommodate students for a two-day period and to ensure student access to the ballot regardless of an A/B day schedule. An early election day no longer is needed and has been removed from the official election calendar.

Read the Board memorandum.

Facilities and Construction

The Board approved architectural appointments for the Ronald McNair and William Tyler Page elementary schools’ addition projects.  


The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Jody L. Malmstrom, currently assistant attorney general, Maryland State Department of Education Division, Maryland Attorney General’s Office, as legal director, Office of the General Counsel

Tiffany N. Awkard, currently acting principal, Silver Creek Middle School, as principal, Silver Creek Middle School

Megan M. McLaughlin, currently acting principal, A. Mario Loiederman Middle School, as principal, A. Mario Loiederman Middle School

Shawaan T. Robinson, currently acting principal, Briggs Chaney Middle School, as principal, Briggs Chaney Middle School

Future Meetings

The Board of Education is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, April 20, 2021.  The Board will meet in a hybrid format (in-person and virtually).  The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board of Education website and meeting calendar for further information. 

About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Nicholas Asante, student member. Dr. Jack R. Smith, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030. 





<<Back to browse