Additional National Merit Scholarships are Awarded

August 8, 2003
Fifteen additional Montgomery County Public Schools graduates have won National Merit Scholarships, raising the number for the 2002-03 school year to 48.

The additional awards were given by universities to students who will attend those institutions. The students, sponsoring institutions, and students’ intended majors are:

§ Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School: Henry A. Fitch, George Washington University, education; Sarah H. Fitch, George Washington University, writing; Elizabeth Greenberg, Grinnell College, Chinese studies.

§ Montgomery Blair High School: Omar Karim, Universisty of Maryland, medicine; Ben S. Meiselman, University of Maryland, diplomacy; Nate A. Pancost, Harvey Mudd College, mathematics; Jared N. Sagoff, University of Chicago, journalism.

§ Albert Einstein High School: Karen L. Hillis, University of Maryland, aerospace engineering.

§ Col. Zadok Magruder High School: Laura A. Brodsky, University of Maryland, atmospheric science.

§ Richard Montgomery High School: Jesse D. Keilson, Univrsity of Maryland, law; Andrew M. Patterson, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, engineering; Haley A. Proctor, Vanderbilt University, business; Lauren E. Seffel, Washington University in St. Louis, law.

§ Walt Whitman High School: Aaron E. Galvin, University of Maryland, anthropology.

§ Thomas S. Wootton High School: Brian J. Cohen, Bucknell University, undecided.

<<Back to browse