Board of Education Revises Charter School Policy

October 28, 2003
The Board of Education met on Monday [October 27] and, among other items, approved a revised policy on public charter schools and adopted its legislative platform for advocacy during the 2004 session of the Maryland General Assembly. The Board also made an administrative appointment and reviewed an update on the Downcounty Consortium.

Policy on Public Charter Schools

The Board took final action on revised policy CFB, Public Charter Schools, following a period of public comment. The revision brings the policy in alignment with current state law and includes revisions based on experience with the application and approval process currently in effect.

Legislative Platform Statement

The Board approved a Legislative Platform for the 2004 session of the Maryland General Assembly, stating the Board’s position on State budget and priority legislative issues. The document will be distributed to members of the General Assembly, partner organizations, and the community before and during the legislative session, and posted on the school system web site.


The Board approved the following administrative appointment:

§ Linda Kimmel Johnson, currently a kindergarten teacher at Rosemary Hills Elementary School, as human resources specialist, Office of Human Resources.

Downcounty Consortium
The Board reviewed an update on the progress of the Downcounty Consortium, including the areas of program development, the choice process, communication with stakeholders, staffing, transportation, budget, and timeline for implementation. Specialized academic opportunities will be available in the 2004-2005 school year to students attending the five high schools that are part of the consortium. In December 2003, eighth grade students in the attendance area of the high schools will have an opportunity to select the program and school they wish to attend next year.

Board of Education: Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, president; Ms. Sharon W. Cox, vice president. Members: Mr. Kermit V. Burnett, Mr. Reginald M. Felton, Dr. Charles Haughey, Mr. Walter N. Lange, Mr. Gabe Romero, and Mr. Sagar Sanghvi, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse