Board of Education Discusses Digital Learning and Innovation, Evidence of Learning Framework; Takes Action on Student Discipline Policy; Views Preliminary Plans for Charles W. Woodward High School; Approves Additional Members to the District Committee on Assessments; Approves Several Administrative Appointments; and Presents New Business Item for Consideration at Next Board Meeting

April 19, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on April 7, 2022. During the meeting, the Board discussed digital learning and innovation; took action on a student discipline policy; discussed the Evidence of Learning Framework; viewed preliminary plans for the second phase of the Charles W. Woodward High School reopening project; approved additional members to the district committee on assessments; made several administrative appointments; and presented a New Business item for consideration at the next Board meeting.   

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

Digital Learning and Innovation

The Board received an update on the growth of the Montgomery Virtual Academy (MVA); expanding access to online courses and other digital learning experiences; and a vision to establish a one-of-a-kind innovation center that serves all students. Grounded in access and equity, Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) is engaged in ongoing efforts to expand opportunities for staff and students to engage in meaningful, purposeful experiences through the innovative use of technology and the exposure to innovative technologies themselves.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

 View the PowerPoint.

Policy JGA, Student Discipline

The Board adopted amendments to Policy JGA, Behavior Intervention, Safety, and Well-being Plan, formerly called Student Discipline.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Evidence of Learning Framework

The Board heard an update on data aligned to the Evidence of Learning (EOL) Framework. The EOL Framework uses a multiple-measures approach that identifies accountability related to readiness and evidence of student achievement.

Read the memorandum to the Board

View the PowerPoint.

Preliminary Plans Presentation—Charles W. Woodward High School Reopening Project Phase II

The Board reviewed preliminary plans for Charles W. Woodward High School and voted to accept the presentation.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Approval of District Committee on Assessments

The Board approved additional members to the District Committee on Assessments. On March 24, 2022, the Board adopted a resolution appointing thirty-two school and central office staff, community members, and students to the District Committee on Assessments (Resolution No. 151-22). At that time, staff in the Office of Teaching, Learning, and Schools committed to returning with a list of additional members to be appointed.

Read the adopted memorandum to the Board.

New Business Item

The Board of Education received a New Business item from Ms. O’Looney, student member of the Board, for consideration by the full Board at its May 10, 2022, Board business meeting. 

Ms. O’Looney’s New Business item stated that the Board of Education requests that the interim superintendent of schools convene a School Meal Quality Work Group, comprising at 40 percent students from diverse school, racial and socioeconomic backgrounds, to meet from spring 2022 to winter 2022 to review school meal quality, the inclusiveness of school meals, portion sizes, nutritional value, and overall meal costs. The group’s recommendations should be presented to the Board of Education no later than December 31, 2022. 


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Patricia E. Kapunan, currently medical director, Adolescent Health Center, Children’s National Hospital, Division of Adolescent Young Adult Medicine, as school system medical officer, Office of the Chief of Staff

Peter V. Crable, currently principal intern, Herbert Hoover Middle School, as principal, Sligo Middle School

Darryl V. Johnson, currently principal intern, Gaithersburg Middle School, as principal, Rocky Hill Middle School

Erin L. Martin, currently acting principal, Takoma Park Middle School, as principal, Takoma Park Middle School

Somer Snider, currently acting principal, Cabin John Middle School, as principal, Cabin John Middle School

M. Deneise Hammond, currently principal, Rachel Carson Elementary School, as principal, Waters Landing Elementary School

Stephanie W. Nesmith, currently acting principal, Sligo Creek Elementary School, as principal, Sligo Creek Elementary School

Robyn A. Shinn, currently acting principal, Mill Creek Towne Elementary School, as principal, Mill Creek Towne Elementary School

Tara M. Strain, currently acting principal, Glen Haven Elementary School, as principal, Glen Haven Elementary School


The Board approved the following recognitions:

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, May 10, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Ms. Hana O’Looney, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, interim superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse