BOE Recognizes 11 Individuals, Organizations for Distinguished Service

May 4, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education has announced its recipients for the 25th Annual Awards for Distinguished Service to Public Education. The awards were established by the Board of Education to recognize and show appreciation for exemplary contributions to public education and to MCPS. Nominations were received from the general community, as well as community organizations, businesses, the superintendent and Board members. More information on the awardees will be shared in the next few weeks.

This year’s Distinguished Service Award winners are:

Community Individual

Mr. Clarence McNeary, Youth Development Specialist, School-Based Wellness Center, Watkins Mill High School

Miss Catherine Navarrete, 11th Grade Student, Walt Whitman High School

Ms. Alexandra Robbins, Founder, Adopt-a-Vax, Long-Term Substitute Teacher

Community Group

Foundation for Hospitality and Restaurant Management (David Child, President)


Paisano’s Rockville (Manny Chavez, General Manager)

MCPS Staff

Mrs. Sharon Asro Faber, English for Speakers of Other Languages Teacher, Watkins Mill High School

Dr. Cara Grant, Supervisor, Pre-K–12 Health and Physical Education

Mrs. Marney Jacobs, Administrative Secretary, Ashburton Elementary School

Mr. Matthew Kamins, Psychologist, Psychological Services

Ms. Kristin Secan, Supervisor, Autism Spectrum Disorders Services

Individual Pioneer

Daniel Evans, Retired MCPS Teacher, Coach/Moderator, Richard Montgomery High School Mock Trial Team


<<Back to browse