Board of Education Makes Several Administrative Appointments, Approves Recognitions

June 2, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on May 26, 2022. During the meeting, the Board made several administrative appointments and approved recognitions.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

  • Karla L. Lopez-Arias, currently assistant principal, Richard Montgomery High School, as supervisor, Behavioral Health, Department of Student Engagement, Behavioral Health, and Academics, Office of Student and Family Support and Engagement, Office of Teaching, Learning and Schools
  • Desmond M. Mackall, currently principal intern, Brookhaven Elementary School, as principal, Meadow Hall Elementary School
  • Lita M. Yates, currently principal intern, Fox Chapel Elementary School, as principal, Fox Chapel Elementary School


The Board approved the following recognitions:

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, June 7, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Ms. Hana O’Looney, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, interim superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse