Board of Education Approves New Framework for Elementary Social Studies; Takes Final Action on Policy ECA, Energy Conservation; Discusses Charter School Application; Makes Administrative Appointments; Approves Appointment to the Ethics Panel

July 5, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on June 28, 2022. During the meeting, the Board approved a new framework for elementary social studies; took final action on Policy ECA, Energy Conservation; discussed a charter school application; made several administrative appointments; and approved an appointment to the Ethics Panel.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

New Framework for Elementary Social Studies

The Board approved the development of a new social studies curricula for Grades 4 and 5. The revised Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) Grades 4 and 5 social studies frameworks are based upon the new Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) elementary social studies framework.

Read the adopted framework memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint

Policy ECA, Energy Conservation

The Board adopted Policy ECA, Energy Conservation. The policy was renamed to Sustainability from Energy Conservation and was updated to encompass all areas of long-term sustainability, environmental stewardship, and environmental educational leadership. The Board tentatively adopted the revised policy in January 2022, and the policy was distributed for public comment from January 14, 2022, through April 7, 2022.

Read the revised policy.

M.E.C.C.A. Charter School Application

The Board discussed the M.E.C.C.A. Business Learning Institute Charter School application. The Board is expected to vote on the proposal at its July 26, 2022, Board meeting.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

See the charter school application.

See the charter school application attachment.

View the PowerPoint.


The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Dr. Peggy Pugh, currently associate superintendent for Administration and Leadership, Washington County Public Schools, as chief academic officer

Diane D. Morris, currently area associate superintendent, Office of Teaching, Learning, and Schools, as associate superintendent of School Support and Well-Being, Office of School Support and Well-Being

Valeria B. Da Silva, currently supervisor, Learning Management Systems and Development, Office of Technology and Innovation, as director, Student and Data Systems, Office of Strategic Initiatives

Dr. Marjorie D. Lope Moutsatsos, currently assistant chief, Professional Learning and Development, Office of Human Resources and Development, as director, Districtwide Professional Learning, Office of Strategic Initiatives

Angela S. McIntosh-Davis, currently team leader, Procurement Unit, Department of Materials Management, Office of Finance and Operations, as director, Division of Procurement, Office of District Operations

Nichelle D. Owens, currently acting director, Division of Early Childhood and Title I Programs and Services, Office of School Support and Improvement, Office of Teaching, Learning, and Schools, as director, Division of Early Childhood and Title I Programs and Services, Office of School Support and Well-Being (OSSWB)

Kathryn O. Broullire, currently executive assistant, Assistant Chief Teaching, Learning, and Schools, Office of Teaching, Learning, and Schools, as supervisor, Professional Learning and Achievement, OSSWB

Evan H. Bernstein, currently principal, Forest Knolls Elementary School, as principal, Little Bennett Elementary School

Anita Chan, currently principal intern, Fields Road Elementary School, as principal, Carderock Springs Elementary School

Angie L. Fish, currently acting principal, Rocky Hill Middle School, as principal, Flower Valley Elementary School

Brent T. Mascott, currently assistant principal, Harmony Hills Elementary School, as principal, Weller Road Elementary School

Ron K. Morris, currently Performance, Equity, and Community Response Director, Howard County Public School System, as principal, Jones Lane Elementary School

Galit Zolkower, currently principal, Highland View Elementary School, as principal, Stedwick Elementary School


The Board approved the following recognitions:

Appointment to the Ethics Panel

The Board approved a resolution reappointing Ms. Lisa Jones Toms to serve a three-year term on the Ethics Panel effective July 1, 2022, and ending June 30, 2025.

Read the adopted resolution.

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, July 26, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Ms. Hana O’Looney, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, interim superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse