Board of Education Discusses Innovative Schools; Takes Action on Charter School Application; Discusses District Assessment Committee Report; Makes Administrative Appointments

August 3, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on July 26, 2022. During the meeting, the Board discussed the opening of innovative schools, took action on a charter school application, discussed a district assessment committee report, and made several administrative appointments.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

Opening of Innovative Schools

On July 8, 2019, Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) implemented the Innovative School Calendar at Arcola and Roscoe R. Nix elementary schools. All students at both schools participate in an extended school year calendar which provides them 30 more days of learning and opportunities including additional innovative, enriched, and interdisciplinary learning experiences across content areas.

With the earlier start of the school year, Arcola and Roscoe R. Nix elementary schools are trailblazers for the reopening of operations and instruction throughout the district. Both school communities have committed to ensuring highly qualified staff continue to provide high-quality instruction that ensures learning continues throughout the year.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint presentation.

M.E.C.C.A. Charter School Application

The Board voted to reject the superintendent of schools’ recommendation and to deny approval of the application of the M.E.C.C.A. Business Learning Institute to operate a public charter school designed as a college preparatory and vocational school for middle and high school students with a business education theme.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint presentation.

District Assessment Committee Report

The Board heard an update from the District Assessment Committee, a group of 42 teachers, teacher leaders, school administrators, employee association representatives, and central office staff, as well as parents, community members, and middle and high school students. It advises and makes recommendations in the following areas:

● the time required to administer each assessment;

● the duplication of assessments;

● the purpose of assessments;

● the value of feedback provided to educators; and

● the timeline of results.

In spring 2017, the Maryland General Assembly passed the More Learning, Less Testing Act of 2017, setting a limit on the amount of time that may be devoted to locally mandated assessment. The legislation compels school districts to ensure that all locally mandated assessments are clear in their purpose, time limited, worth taking, high quality, and tied to improved student learning. It also requires the formation of a district assessment committee.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the PowerPoint presentation.

Administrative Appointments

The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Kimberly R. Fields, currently information technology project manager, Fairfax County Public Schools, as director, Department of Business Information Services, Office of Strategic Initiatives (OSI)

Gregory J. Salois, currently fleet maintenance manager, Greyhound Lines, Dallas, Texas, as director, Department of Transportation, Office of District Operations (ODO)

Dr. Kristen Wong Callisto, currently director of special education, Bellevue School District, Bellevue, Washington, as executive director, Office of the Chief of Staff

Dr. Natasha White Jones, currently instructional supervisor, Prince George’s County Public Schools, as director, Division of Appeals, ODO

Elizabeth M. Rogovoy, currently instructional specialist, Department of Human Capital Management, Office of Human Resources and Development, as executive director, Office of the Deputy Superintendent

Rebecca A. Dougherty, currently acting supervisor, Title I Programs, Office of School Support and Well-Being (OSSWB) as supervisor, Title I Programs, OSSWB

Rafael D. Gramatges, currently instructional specialist, Department of Student and Data Systems, OSI, as supervisor, Student Systems Development, OSI

Jennifer L. Loznak, currently learning and achievement specialist, OSSWB, as supervisor, Secondary Mathematics, Office of the Chief Academic Officer.

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, August 23, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Arvin Kim, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse