Board of Education Discusses Opening of Schools and Makes an Administrative Appointment

August 31, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on August 23, 2022. During the meeting, the Board discussed the opening of schools and made an administrative appointment.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

Opening of Schools

The Board heard an update on the opening of schools for the 2022–2023 school year. Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) staff discussed readiness to improve math and literacy rates, build a safe and inclusive school climate, support two-way communication between schools and families, and improve the recruitment, retention, and distribution of high-quality and diverse staff.

View the PowerPoint Presentation.

Administrative Appointment

The Board approved the following administrative appointment:

Heather L. Dublinske, currently coordinator, Office of the MCPS Medical Officer, Office of the Deputy Superintendent, as executive director, Office of the Chief Operating Officer

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Thursday, September 8, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Arvin Kim, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse