Board of Education Discusses Antiracist System Audit Final Report

November 10, 2022

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on Tuesday, October 11, 2022. During the meeting, they discussed the Antiracist System Audit final report.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recording.

Antiracist System Audit Final Report

The Board received a public presentation of the Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) Antiracist System Audit final report by independent auditors, Mid-Atlantic Equity Consortium, Inc. The report confirmed that MCPS has many elements needed to eliminate racial disparities for students, families and staff; however, the study calls on MCPS to develop a clear, systemwide comprehensive approach to achieve an antiracist school system.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

View the MCPS PowerPoint presentation.

View the MAEC PowerPoint presentation.

View the MAEC Document Review Report Summary.

View the Antiracist System Audit Next Steps.


National School Bus Safety Week

Future Meeting

The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, October 25, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education

The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Arvin Kim, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

<<Back to browse