Pres. Scholar Program Names 8 Semifinalists

April 26, 2004
Eight high school seniors from Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) have been named semifinalists for the 2004 Presidential Scholars awards, one of the highest honors given to high school seniors in the United States.

Six are academic semifinalists, selected from among about 500 semifinalists nationwide who were chosen for their exceptional performance on the Scholastic Assessment Test, leadership qualities, personal character, and involvement in community and school activities. Two are semifinalists in the arts component of the program.
The MCPS students are among 12 semifinalists from the state of Maryland. The number of semifinalists from each state or jurisdiction is based on a proportionate number of test-takers for that state.

The Presidential Scholars semifinalists from MCPS are:

· Jacob J. Spinner, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
· Frank L. Washburn, Walt Whitman High School
· Bryan R. Cockrell, Richard Montgomery High School
· Kamara A. Boers, Richard Montgomery High School
· Sandra S. Katz, Winston Churchill High School
· Jessica K. Shang, Montgomery Blair High School

Presidential Scholars in the Arts semifinalists are:

· Max E. Chavez, Albert Einstein High School/Visual Art Center
· Kevin J. Lee, John F. Kennedy High School/Visual Art Center

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of citizens appointed by the president, will announce the scholars in May. For the academic awards, the commission will choose one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and from U.S. students living abroad, and 15 students at large. Up to 20 students from the creative and performing arts will be selected for the arts awards.

Scholars will receive Presidential Scholars medallions at a June recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C., and will participate in other activities during Scholars Week, tentatively scheduled for June 19-24.

<<Back to browse