ESOL Committee Presents Annual Education Awards

May 28, 2004
The 2003-2004 awards for Outstanding ESOL principals, teachers, and friends were presented at the annual ESOL Awards Ceremony held May 15 at John F. Kennedy High School.

The ESOL/Bilingual Advisory Committee sponsors the annual event to honor the outstanding ESOL teachers who nurture the school system's second-language learners, and the supportive principals who provide the leadership to ensure an outstanding learning environment for them.

The recipients are:

Principals of the Year Awards
Janis E. Mills, Albert Einstein High School
Dianne G. Thornton, Rock Terrace School

Outstanding ESOL Teachers Awards
Hoang Tam N. Hilton, Ronald McNair Elementary School
Megan F. Abshari-Means, Kingsview Middle School
Ileana Enache, Springbrook High School

Friend of ESOL Award
Amado “Sonny” Narvaez, media specialist, Montgomery Knolls Elementary School (given in recognition of his providing entertainment as a magician at the ESOL Awards Day for the past 14 years)

Board of Education member Gabe Romero was the keynote speaker. Mistresses of ceremonies were Karen Woodson, director of ESOL/Bilingual Programs, and Lois Wions, supervisor of ESOL instruction, ESOL/Bilingual Programs.

<<Back to browse