Carderock Springs Named National Blue Ribbon School

September 17, 2004
Carderock Springs Elementary School in Bethesda has been named a National No Child Left Behind/Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education. The announcement was made September 17 by U.S. Secretary of Education Rod Paige.

The No Child Left Behind/Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes and honors schools that exhibit high performance and/or significant improvement in reading and mathematics achievement as measured by Maryland assessments.

Carderock Springs, whose principal is Linda Jackson Jones, was recognized for its 38-year history of academic excellence, performing well on a variety of local, state, and national assessments over the years. A strong instructional staff and active parent and community involvement support the work of Carderock Springs’ internationally diverse student body.

The national award follows Carderock Springs’ selection last fall by the Maryland State Department of Education as one of six Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence for 2003. The Maryland schools were selected on the basis of the new national award criteria for the Blue Ribbon Program that identifies both high-performing schools and schools that have made significant gains in communities heavily impacted by poverty.

Carderock Springs was selected for the state award along with two other schools for being among the top 10 percent of all Maryland elementary schools as measured by Maryland assessments.

Another three schools, which were described as economically disadvantaged, were selected as Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools on the basis of having demonstrated significant improvement on the state assessments over at least the past three years.

All six Maryland schools were selected for the national Blue Ribbon award, while only 64 percent of schools nominated by their states nationwide achieved the national honor.

In addition to Carderock Springs Elementary School, other Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools are Baltimore County’s Carroll Manor Elementary, Caroline County’s Preston Elementary, Howard County’s Centennial Lane Elementary, Prince George’s County’s Beacon Heights Elementary, and Worcester County’s Snow Hill Elementary.

<<Back to browse