19 Additional Students are Nat'l Merit Scholars

May 9, 2005
Nineteen MCPS students have won $2,500 National Merit Scholarships after meeting rigorous academic standards and other criteria.

The local scholars account for almost a third of the 58 winners from Maryland. Nationally, 2,500 winners were selected from about 15,000 finalists. The program is sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Listed by school, Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) winners and their intended career fields are:

· Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School: Joshua A. Rosenthal, public service

· Montgomery Blair High School: Abigail A. Fraeman, planetary science; Sherri Y. Geng, medicine; Kendra E. Leigh, molecular biology; Renee H. Park, applied mathematics/physics; Joanna A. Skeath, music/international relations; Jacqueline R. Villadsen, experimental physics; Min H. Wu, medicine

· James Hubert Blake High School: Karen Shih, journalism

· Winston Churchill High School: Abigail R. Fradkin, undecided

· Walter Johnson High School: James D. Coan, engineering; Kyrstin L. Fornace, chemistry; Erin A. Kazaz, undecided

· Richard Montgomery High School: Laura E. Felley, biology; Yubing Hu, environmental engineering; Xiyin Tang, communications

· Quince Orchard High School: Jennifer C. Ho, medicine

· Walt Whitman High School: Adam R. Singerman, theater

· Thomas S. Wootton High School: Andrew H. Ward, undecided

Students attained finalist status based on criteria such as exceptional performance on standardized tests and in the classroom, recommendations from school officials, and a goals statement.

The finalists were selected from about 16,000 semifinalists announced last fall. MCPS had 143 semifinalists.

The announcement brings the number of MCPS Merit Scholars to 25, including six corporate-sponsored winners. On May 25 and July 11, winners of college and university scholarships will be announced.

<<Back to browse