Board Honors Service to Education

October 18, 2005
The Montgomery County Board of Education will honor 14 individuals and organizations in its ninth annual awards program for distinguished service to public education in Montgomery County.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, October 20, at 6:00 p.m. in the Carver Educational Services Center auditorium, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville.

The Awards for Distinguished Service to Public Education were established by the Board of Education to recognize and show appreciation for exemplary contributions to public education and to the Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS).

The categories of the awards and the individuals and groups who will receive them are:

Community Individual

Art Billings, community specialist with the City of Rockville, Department of Youth and Family Services, for his outstanding work with at-risk youth and their families.

Nguyen Minh Chau, for her community leadership and advocacy for children, particularly those with limited English proficiency, for nearly 20 years.

Community Group
The African Immigrant and Refugee Foundation, for using the Catching Up Program with students from Africa to ensure an effective transition into the American culture and education system.

Conquista tus Suenos (Realize Your Dreams), for providing effective programs that help empower Latino parents to connect with their children's school and education.

Hospice Caring, Inc., for their group bereavement program, the Good Grief Club, that helps children cope with grief and offers a sense of hope and comfort.

Mark Drury and Shapiro & Duncan, for their tireless work to inform students, teachers, and administrators of the high-quality career opportunities provided by the industries of construction.

William Schlossenberg and The Gazette, for many contributions to education, including leading the successful mentoring program and newspaper club at Viers Mill Elementary School.

MCPS Staff

Robert Barnes, special education teacher at Eastern Middle School, for broadening the scope of after-school activities for students at the school with innovative programs and partnerships.

Nivea Berrios, for her effective and dedicated work as supervisor of the International Student Admissions Office, which has served more than 18,000 international students and their families over the past three years.

Virginia Bumblis, whose work as a parent volunteer, instructional assistant, and paraeducator has served the community of New Hampshire Estates Elementary School for the past 35 years.

School Service Volunteer

Susan Bain, Parent Teacher Group (PTG) president, for her extraordinary efforts to plan and organize activities for the staff and students of Rock Terrace School.

David Lechner, PTA enrichment chairman, for encouraging a multitude of enrichment activities at Stedwick Elementary School to reinforce classroom instruction.

Individual Pioneer

William Porter, founding principal of Mark Twain school and original assistant supervisor of special education, for his groundbreaking leadership as a special educator for more than half a century.

Michael Subin, County Council member and chair of the Council's Education Committee, for the many ways he has worked to promote a seamless delivery of services to support student learning and enhance the quality of life for children in Montgomery County.

“Pioneer Award” winners are individuals who, although they may not be active currently, have made extraordinary contributions in the past that have had a profound effect on the school system over the years. Winners in other categories are individuals, groups, or organizations that have, within the past three years, provided service, support, and commitment to public education as demonstrated by:

§ An outstanding contribution of time and expertise to school system programs
§ Development and/or implementation of an exemplary program or project
§ A contribution that results in systemwide benefit.

Nominations for the awards were sought from the general community as well as community organizations, businesses, the superintendent of schools, and members of the Montgomery County Board of Education.

<<Back to browse