Twenty-Two Students Win Merit Scholarships

May 4, 2006
Twenty-two students from Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) have won $2,500 National Merit Scholarships after meeting rigorous academic standards and other criteria. The local scholars account for 40 percent of the 54 winners from Maryland.

Nationally, 2,500 winners were selected from about 15,000 finalists in the 2005-2006 program, sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

Listed by school, MCPS winners and their intended career fields are:

• Montgomery Blair High School: Gregory L. Howard, economics; Margot Z. Pass, psychology; Samir J. Paul, economics; Eddie C. Wang, biochemistry; Yuan Zhang, computer science
• James Hubert Blake High School: Grace A. Livingstone, editing/writing; Benjamin J. Lorber, journalism
• Winston Churchill High School: Jason D. Chen, business; Garrett K. Drayna, physics; Neil I. Fanaroff, business; Michael J. Krug, electrical engineering; William J. Richbourg, engineering/business
• Walter Johnson High School: Lisa A. Kurtz, political science
• Richard Montgomery High School: Naa Adot Ammah-Tagoe, economics/international relations; Stephanie H. Kim, psychology; Katherine H. Kugler, theater; Grace C. Lee, medicine; Grace A. Maldarelli, public health; Vineeta Singh, medicine; Kristen L. Walker, undecided; Alina Z. Yang, international relations
• Thomas S. Wootton High School: David K. Loewy, computer engineering

The scholars were selected based on information submitted by finalists and their schools, including academic records, scores from two standardized tests, school and community activities, an essay describing interests and goals, and recommendations. The number of winners named in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors. About 16,000 semifinalists were named last fall. MCPS had 131 semifinalists.

The announcement brings the number of Merit scholars from MCPS to 34, including 12 winners of corporate-sponsored awards. On May 24 and July 10, NMSC will announce the winners of scholarships sponsored by colleges and universities.

<<Back to browse