Applicants Sought for Advisory Committee

October 4, 2007
Board of Education Seeks Applicants for Appointment to Special Education Continuous Improvement Team Advisory Committee

The Montgomery County Board of Education is seeking individuals to serve on the Board of Education Special Education Continuous Improvement Team Advisory Committee. This committee will advise the Board of Education’s Special Education Ad Hoc Committee and provide formal recommendations regarding policy and practice in order to support the continuous improvement of special education in Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS).

Appointments are for the life of the committee, anticipated to extend to no later than June 30, 2009. Members serve without compensation.

The committee will be composed of 15 to 20 members, including at least eight to ten community members and parents of MCPS students with special education needs; three principals/assistant principals representing elementary, middle, and high schools; one special education teacher; one general education teacher; four MCPS central office administrators; one representative from an institution of higher education, and two MCPS student representatives. The Board of Education makes every effort to appoint advisory committees in which the membership is balanced by geographic area, race, ethnicity, gender, and range of viewpoints. All interested individuals are encouraged to apply.

Applications must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, October 26, 2007, for appointments anticipated to be made at the Board meeting on November 13, 2007. Current members of the committee who have signified interest in continuing their membership need not apply.

To obtain a committee application, contact Becky Gibson by telephone at 301-279-3301 or e-mail her at Application forms also may be completed by accessing them at the link below. Completed applications should be returned to Roland Ikheloa, chief of staff, Montgomery County Board of Education, 850 Hungerford Drive, Room 123, Rockville, MD 20850.

For additional information about this committee, please contact Gwen Mason, director, Department of Special Education Services, at 301-279-3135.

<<Back to browse