Board of Education Announces 2007 Year in Review

February 5, 2008
The Montgomery County Board of Education is pleased to present its 2007 Year in Review. “This report chronicles the Board’s journey whose unspoken theme was change - targeted at improving relationships with and outreach to our community, enhancing our oversight role over the school system, and being responsive to the daily changing needs of our students,” said Board President Nancy Navarro.

The Year in Review includes information on:

The Role and Mission of the Board of Education
Highlights and Accomplishments for 2007
Challenges and Future Priorities
Committee Accomplishments for 2007
Board of Education 2007-2008 Meeting Calendar

The report is available in its entirety in PDF format at the link below.


Board of Education: Mrs. Nancy Navarro, president. Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Mr. Steve Abrams, Mr. Christopher Barclay, Ms. Sharon Cox, Dr. Judy Docca, Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, and Mr. Ben Moskowitz, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected county-wide but run at-large, or from the Board district in which they reside.

<<Back to browse