Sixteen More Students Awarded Merit Scholarships

June 3, 2008
Sixteen MPCS Students Win Merit Scholarships from Colleges,
46 Students Named Merit Scholars So Far this Year

Sixteen students have been named in the first round of college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships. The students are among 39 winners in Maryland of the scholarships sponsored by colleges and universities throughout the nation. Each sponsor college selected scholarship winners from among finalists in the 2008 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.

So far this year, 46 students in Montgomery County Public Schools have been named Merit Scholars. Another group of college-sponsored Merit Scholars will be announced July 14.

The winners, their intended career fields and scholarship sponsors are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School: John R. Stevens, economics, New York University

Montgomery Blair High School: Andrew W. Kannan, computer science, University of Maryland; Kun Li, engineering, University of Maryland; Seth S. Reeker, law, Arizona State University

Winston Churchill High School: Michael W. Groeneman, economics, Carleton College; Kevin M. Levine, medical science, Washington University in St. Louis

Clarksburg High School: John T. Garvey, electrical engineering, University of Maryland

John F. Kennedy High School: Claire E. Crabtree, education (music), Florida State University

Richard Montgomery High School: Jane Y. Chen, journalism, University of Southern California; Daniel P. Daly, sports journalism, Northwestern University; Ian M. Muir, economics, University of Chicago

Walt Whitman High School: Shantanu Jha, medicine, University of Chicago; Eliza S. Kern, historic preservation, University of North Carolina; Michael S. Lee, biomedical research, Washington University in St. Louis

Thomas S. Wootton High School: Sha Luo, international business, New York University; Sean C. Weerakkody, engineering, University of Maryland

<<Back to browse