Board Approves Policy on Student Transportation

June 24, 2008
ROCKVILLE, MD—The Board of Education met on Monday, June 23 and, among other items, gave final approval of Policy EEA, Student Transportation, and discussed suspensions and interventions. The Board made six administrative appointments, approved an increase in tuition rates for nonresident students and made appointments to two advisory committees. In addition, the Board recognized college/university partners and congratulated the recipients of this year’s Maryland Vietnamese Mutual Association academic awards and scholarships.

Final approval of Policy EEA, Student Transportation
The Board took final action on Policy EEA, Student Transportation. The revised policy is designed to provide safe, responsive and accountable operation of the Montgomery County Public Schools transportation system, in partnership with parents and students. The policy includes authorization for the superintendent, in exigent circumstances, to apply to the Board for a waiver to temporarily adjust transportation distances. Board action on the waiver request can be taken after allowing at least 21 days for public comment; or, if the Board deems an emergency exists, the notification provision may be waived if all Board members are present and agree unanimously.

Update on Suspensions and Interventions
The Board discussed the overrepresentation of African American and Latino students in suspension data. Although the overall suspension rate in Montgomery County Public Schools is the fourth lowest in the state, disproportionate suspensions of African American and Latino students still exist. The Disproportionate Suspension Rates Work Group’s draft report includes recommendations in four areas: communication, cultural competencies, equitable practices and relationships.

The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Karen Lockard, currently assistant principal, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, as principal, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School

Dr. Nelson McLeod, currently principal, Newport Mill Middle School, as principal, Richard Montgomery High School

David A. Patterson, currently supervisor, Division of School-Based Special Education Services, Office of Special Education and Student Services, as supervisor, Placement and Assessment Services Unit, Department of Special Education Operations, Office of Special Education and Student Services

Maria L. Trementozzi, currently acting supervisor, Social Studies, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, as supervisor, Social Studies, Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Rochelle A. Kraus, currently Human Resources specialist, Department of Recruitment and Staffing, as coordinator, Human Resources, Department of Recruitment and Staffing

Mary M. Rapp, currently coordinator, Division of Title I Programs, as coordinator, Montgomery County Infants and Toddlers Program

Tuition for Nonresident Students
The Board approved an increase in tuition rates for nonresident students for FY 2009, based on the approved operating budget, cost of debt service and current revenue funding for the capital budget. Elementary (including kindergarten) tuition will increase from $13,790 to $14,402; secondary tuition from $13,627 to $14,068; and special education tuition from $27,919 to $29,567 for students who are not residents of Montgomery County.

Appointments to Advisory Committees
The Board made appointments to two advisory committees for one-year terms to begin July 1, 2008.

Appointed to the Montgomery County Collaboration Board for Career and Technology Education were:
Arts, Humanities, Media and Communications—Joseph Malouf
Biosciences, Health Science, and Medicine—Lisa McDonald
Business Management and Finance—Lawrence Rosenblum
Construction and Development—Mark Drury
Education, Training, and Child Studies—Stewart Edelstein
Engineering, Scientific Research, and Manufacturing Technologies—Sanj Malushte and Jim Sturges
Environmental, Agricultural, and Natural Resources—Marie S. Rojas
Human and Consumer Services, Hospitality, and Tourism—Andy Chavez and Marshall Weston
Information Technologies—Dalila Bonilla Wortman and Carroll McGillin
Law, Government, Public Safety, and Administration—Gayle Driver
Transportation, Distribution, and Logistics—Harold Redden
MCPS student member—Shaunice Ellis
MC student member—Jeremy Ben-Zev
Thomas DeGonia will continue as president for a term due to expire June 30, 2009.

Appointed as student members of the Citizens Advisory Committee for Family Life and Human Development were Brittney Johnson of Damascus High School and Carlos Mejia of Gaithersburg High School (representing the Montgomery County Region of the Maryland Association of Student Councils).

Recognition of MCPS–University Partnerships
The Board approved a resolution recognizing higher education partners and the 195 MCPS staff and teachers who are graduates of their 2007–2008 programs. Programs that allow support staff to become teachers and allow professional staff to earn master’s degrees and certifications are available through partnerships with Bowie State University, Columbia Union College, Hood College, Johns Hopkins University, McDaniel College, Montgomery College, Towson University, George Washington University, University of Maryland at College Park, University of Maryland University College, and University of Maryland Baltimore County. This is the 20th year of the Creative Initiatives in Teacher Education partnership with the University of Maryland at College Park.

Recognition of Vietnamese Scholars
The Board congratulated the 78 Vietnamese students recognized by the Maryland Vietnamese Mutual Association for excellence in academic performance, leadership skills and community involvement, and the two students who received $1,000 scholarships from the association.

Board of Education: Mrs. Nancy Navarro, president. Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Mr. Steve Abrams, Mr. Christopher Barclay, Ms. Sharon Cox, Dr. Judy Docca, Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, and Mr. Ben Moskowitz, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected county-wide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

<<Back to browse