Fifteen More Students Named National Merit Scholars

July 24, 2008

Fifteen students were named in the second round of college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships in July. The students are among 31 winners in Maryland of scholarships sponsored by colleges and universities throughout the nation. That brings the total number of Merit Scholarship winners for the 2007–2008 school year to 61.

Sponsor colleges selected the newest scholarship winners from among finalists in the 2008 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. Sixteen other college-sponsored winners were named last May.

The winners, their intended career fields and sponsoring schools are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School—David C. Damtoft, education (college professor), Grinnell College

Montgomery Blair High School—Vijay Baharani, business, University of Maryland; William W. Bucher, environmental law, Washington University in St. Louis; Zhengzhe Liu, medicine, University of Maryland; Rachita Sood, medicine, University of Maryland; Timothy P. Visclosky, medicine, University of Maryland; Ryan I. Waldman, physics, Harvey Mudd College; Thomas J. Warner, military service, University of Maryland

Walter Johnson High School—Eileen E. Kuo, law, University of Southern California

Richard Montgomery High School—Michael S. Kang, biomedical engineering, University of Maryland; Susan S. Jin, medicine, University of Maryland

Quince Orchard High School—Mabel R. Xu, computer science/information technology, University of Maryland

Sherwood High School—Sidney R. Ainkorn, politics, Macalester College

Thomas S. Wootton High School—Brian G. Lenardo, physics, University of Maryland; Allison M. Onken, medicine, Washington University in St. Louis

The 2007-2008 Merit Scholars include 19 winners of $2,500 National Merit Scholarships, 11 winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships and 31 winners of college-sponsored Merit Scholarships.

<<Back to browse