Board of Education Appoints Three Administrators

August 22, 2008
Board of Education Appoints Three Administrators, Discusses School Opening Readiness and Online Learning Community

The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Thursday, August 21, and, among other actions, approved three new administrative appointments. The Board also received an update on the system’s readiness for the opening of schools on August 26, as well as a briefing on the development of an online learning community to support instructional programs.

Supporting Instruction through an Online Learning Community

The Board was briefed on and discussed the school system’s new online learning community. The first step of the two-pronged project—creating an online curriculum archive—was completed in June 2008. Principals and teachers now can access available curriculum documents—at least 40,000 pages previously published in notebooks—through the new MCPS Curriculum Archive web site Work toward the ultimate goal of developing an online collaborative web-based environment is under way, starting with teachers as the customer. Resources for parents and students will be provided in later phases.


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Kyle J. Heatwole, currently acting principal, Rock View Elementary School, as principal, Rock View Elementary School

Regina P. Breiterman, currently acting coordinator, Education, Hospitality and Human Services, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs, as coordinator, Education, Hospitality and Human Services, Division of Career and Technology Education, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Program

Rosanna C. Thomas, currently acting coordinator, Biosciences and Health Professions, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs, as coordinator, Biosciences and Health Professions, Division of Career and Technology Education, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs

Readiness for Opening Schools

The Board discussed readiness for opening schools on Tuesday, August 26. Among the items addressed in the presentation:

Fourteen projects— including eight classroom additions, four gymnasiums, one school-based health center, and Richard Montgomery High School site work—are scheduled to be complete and ready when school opens.

Twelve new principal positions have been filled this year and nearly 600 teachers have been hired. Also, MCPS will begin the school year with a full complement of bus drivers.

Six new middle schools will be phased in during the second year of the middle school reform initiative.

Annual Report of the Policy Committee

The Board’s Policy Committee presented its annual report to the Board. The report summarized the committee’s activities in the three focus areas of reviewing and revising policy, evaluating policy implementation and achievement of desired outcomes, and monitoring implementation of major policy revisions.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mrs. Nancy Navarro, president. Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Mr. Steve Abrams, Mr. Christopher Barclay, Ms. Sharon Cox, Dr. Judy Docca, Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, and Ms. Quratul-Ann Malik, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617. 

The Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

<<Back to browse