Class of 2009 Earns 71 National Merit Scholarship Awards

July 13, 2009
Twenty-Four Additional Students Win National Merit Scholarships, Bringing Total for the Class of 2009 to 71

Twenty-four students have been named in the second round of college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships, among 51 winners in Maryland of scholarships sponsored by colleges and universities throughout the nation. Each sponsor college selected scholarship winners from among finalists in the 2009 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.

This announcement brings the total of Merit Scholarship winners in Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) for the 2008–2009 school year to 71 students.

Listed by school, the latest MCPS winners and their sponsoring schools are:

Montgomery Blair High School: Eric S. Kuang, University of Maryland; Andrew J. Villadsen, University of Chicago; Matthew F. Xu, University of Maryland; Henry T. Zhang, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Ya Zhou, University of Maryland

Winston Churchill High School: Michael H. Weston-Dawkes, Vanderbilt University; Rani Y. Woo, University of Maryland

Damascus High School: Julie A. Grysavage, University of Maryland

Paint Branch High School: Adam C. Sonty, University of Miami

Quince Orchard High School: Max D. Poetzschke, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Richard Montgomery High School: Eric M. Cheng, University of Maryland; Elena M. Hutchinson, University of Southern California; Katherine G. Ip, University of Maryland; Upasana B. Kaku, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Rachel K. King, University of Maryland; Annie Y. Pi, University of Maryland; Peter A. Suzich, Franklin and Marshall College

Springbrook High School: Michelle Chen, University of Maryland

Walt Whitman High School: William S. Sisco, Northwestern University

Walter Johnson High School: Mark E. Fornace, University of Chicago; Jamie A. Harding, Bowdoin College; Clare E. Riva, Claremont McKenna College; Zaheer M. Valivullah, University of Maryland

Wootton High School: Rui Zhong, Emory University

<<Back to browse