Eighteen Additional National Merit Scholarship Awards Announced

May 5, 2010
Twenty-seven Students Have Won National Merit Scholarships So Far This Year

Eighteen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have won $2,500 National Merit Scholarships after meeting rigorous academic standards and other criteria. They join nine previous winners this year of corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships.

The local scholars account for nearly one-third of the 56 winners from Maryland. Nationally, 2,500 winners were chosen from among 15,000 finalists in the 2009–2010 program, sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. The winners are finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Listed by school, the latest MCPS winners are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase HS: Paul H. Hogan

Montgomery Blair HS: Sophia Y. Deng, Xinyi Sui, Alexander S. Bae, Jacob B. Hurwitz

Winston Churchill HS: Monica M. Cho, Allison Y. Duh, Jack S. Shu

Damascus HS: Julie E. Eisenberg

Walter Johnson HS: Milad S. Emamian

Richard Montgomery HS: Julia Chartove, Dana S. Reback, Victoria A. Chang

Walt Whitman HS: Carolyn C. Heiman, Emily G. Savage

Thomas S. Wootton HS: Margaret Zheng, Amy M. Levine, Emily M. Burklow

Earlier this year, nine students won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships financed by companies, foundations, and other business organization. College-sponsored Merit Scholarships will be announced later this month and in July.
More information

<<Back to browse