MCPS Students Win National Achievement Scholarships

April 6, 2011
   Thirteen high school seniors from Montgomery County Public Schools have been selected as 2011 National Achievement Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This highly selective scholarship competition recognizes outstanding academic achievement of African-American high school seniors across the United States.

   Winners are awarded $2,500 scholarships, which are privately financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and grants from corporate organizations and professional associations.
This year, the 13 winners from MCPS comprise 33 percent of the 39 winners selected from Maryland. Approximately 800 winners were chosen from across the nation out of more than 160,000 applicants.
   The 2011 MCPS winners and their high schools are:

Montgomery Blair High School
·  Erik V. Agard
·  Brian D. Clanton
·  Saleiha Mayer-Marks
·  Sarah E. McMillian
·  Cy A. Neita
·  Aaron D. Tucker
·  Selena D. Wyborski
Poolesville High School
·  Maeva S. Nyandjo

Richard Montgomery High School
·  Zachary L. Etheart
·  Raissa Horimbere
·  Chelsea A. Marcus
·  Haydn E. Welch
Watkins Mill High School
·  Qaren Q. Quartey

   In 2010, eight MCPS seniors were chosen as National Achievement Scholars. The program, established in 1964, honors scholastically talented African American students and has awarded $98 million in college scholarships over the last 47 years. More information about the National Achievement Scholars Program is available at

<<Back to browse