Three MCPS Students Named Presidential Scholars

May 2, 2011
Three MCPS students have been named 2011 Presidential Scholars for their outstanding academic achievement, leadership, citizenship, service, and contribution to school and community.

The three students, the only Maryland public school students to receive the award, are among 141 students nationwide to be named Presidential Scholar winners and will be honored in Washington D.C., June 18-21.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964 to honor academic achievement and was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts. Since 1983, each Presidential Scholar has invited his or her most inspiring and challenging teacher to travel to Washington, D.C., to receive a Teacher Recognition Award from the U.S. Department of Education and to participate in the recognition events.

The three MCPS Presidential Scholars are:

· Clara H. McCreery, of Walt Whitman High School, who named Ms. Susan Wildstrom as her most influential teacher.
· Sandra C. Yan, of Montgomery Blair High School, who named Ms. Mary Lou Thornton as her most influential teacher.
· Eli M. Okun, of Montgomery Blair High School, who named Mr. Kevin Shindel as his most influential teacher. Mr. Okun is a resident of Washington D.C.

The Presidential Scholars honor one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad. Additionally, 15 students are chosen as at-large winners and 20 recipients are named Presidential Scholars in the Arts. 

Read the U.S. Department of Education Press Release

See a list of all the Presidential Scholars 

<<Back to browse