Board of Education Approves Superintendent Contract, Discusses Family Engagement

May 11, 2011
The Montgomery County Board of Education held its monthly all-day meeting on Tuesday, May 10, 2011 in the Board Meeting Room of the Carver Educational Services Center in Rockville. You can view the agenda for the meeting online and, in the near future, minutes and video of this meeting will also posted on the Board website. Below is a brief summary of the meeting: 

Appointment of the Superintendent of Schools and Contract Approval

The Board officially appointed Dr. Joshua P. Starr as the next Superintendent of Schools for Montgomery County Public Schools and unanimously approved a four-year contract. On July 1, Dr. Starr will succeed Dr. Jerry D. Weast, who is retiring after 12 years as MCPS superintendent. On April 25, 2011, the Board conditionally appointed Dr. Starr, pending agreement on an employment contract and the approval of the State Superintendent of Schools, as required by Maryland law. State Superintendent Nancy S. Grasmick has approved Dr. Starr’s credentials and Dr. Starr signed his contract on May 11. Under the terms of the contract, Dr. Starr will earn a salary of $250,000 per year and will also receive $35,000 in deferred compensation as well as a contribution of $18,750 toward his retirement. Dr. Starr also will receive other benefits including health, disability and life insurance, moving expenses and the use of a vehicle.

Read the resolution
Read the Press Release and View the Contract

Innovations in Family Engagement

The Board discussed Montgomery County Public Schools’ efforts to engage parents and community members, and create a welcoming environment in all schools. The Board heard presentations by MCPS staff and parents who are involved in a variety of strategies to create connections between schools and the community and provide parents with useful strategies to be strong advocates for their students. The Board’s strategic plan, Our Call to Action: Pursuit of Excellence, emphasizes the development of productive partnerships for education through a variety of strategies, including welcoming all families into the school community; communicating effectively; supporting student success; speaking up for children; sharing power and collaborating with the community.  Read the report to the Board

Actions on Board Policies

During its meeting, the Board also:

-  Took Tentative Action on Board Policy ACG:
Access to Services, Programs, and Activities by Individuals with Disabilities.  Changes are being recommended to Policy ACG to reflect the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act of 2008 and to include relevant portions of Policy GBH, Employment of Individuals with Disabilities.

-  Made non-substantive changes to three policies: Policy IQD (Academic Eligibility for Extracurricular Activities), Policy JED (Residency, Tuition, and Enrollment), and Policy GIJ (Operation Fund Investments).
(need to add hyperlinks)


The Board approved the following resolutions:
·  The Board recognized May 4, 2011 as
Salute to School Food and Nutrition Service Personnel Day in Montgomery County Public Schools. Read the Resolution
·  The Board recognized the NAACP Scholarship Recipients. Read the Resolution
·  The Board recognized May 15-21, 2011 as Pupil Personnel Worker Week in Montgomery County Public Schools. Read the Resolution
·  The Board honors the life of Dr. James E. Cronin.  Read the Resolution

About the Board of Education

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher S. Barclay, president; Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. Alan Xie, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617. 

The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

<<Back to browse