Thirteen MCPS Seniors Receive Broad Scholarships Totaling $250,000

May 19, 2011
Thirteen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) high school seniors have been awarded Broad Prize college scholarships worth a total of $250,000. The scholarships, given by The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation, recognize graduating seniors with financial need whose grades have improved substantially over the course of their high school career.

The students were eligible for the scholarships because of MCPS’ status as a 2010 finalist for the Broad Prize, the nation's largest education award honoring large urban districts. School district winners and finalists have demonstrated the highest levels of overall performance and improvement in student achievement while reducing achievement gaps among income and ethnic groups.

“I am very proud of these talented, hard-working students,” said Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent of schools. “Their achievement demonstrates the importance of setting high standards for all students and providing each student with the support needed to succeed in college and in life.”

In a press release, Eli Broad, founder of The Broad Foundation, said, "We congratulate these students for their academic success but more importantly for improving their performance during high school. Their achievement is also a testament to the support and dedication from their parents, teachers, administrators and the entire Montgomery County community. We look forward to their continued success in college and beyond."

The following 13 Montgomery County seniors were selected to receive Broad Prize scholarships:

 Student Name                                   High School

Nana Twum Agyire                           Bethesda-Chevy Chase

Perfect E. Torkornoo                        Clarksburg

Susana Chiang                                  Colonel Zadok Magruder

Stephanie Abaga                               Gaithersburg

Nasra Missana                                  Gaithersburg

Brittany A. Hamson                           James Hubert Blake

Rosa Vicente                                     John F. Kennedy

Talmo D. Pereira                               Quince Orchard

Bereket Mamo                                  Seneca Valley

Amelia J. Bell-Andrew                       Sherwood

Charlotte M. Jackson                        Walter Johnson

Jeremiah D. Kober                            Watkins Mill

Erma Quimat                                     Wheaton

The Broad Prize was established in 2002 by The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation, which seeks to advance public good in education, science and the arts. To learn more about the Broad Prize, visit  




<<Back to browse